Page 1 of 2
stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:19 pm
by Akatana
Hello I'm working on NPC's right now and I'm kinda confused on how the stationary function works?
If I'm right it should stop the movement of a monster (kinda like blockers)
But it seems like its no boolean because if I set staionary = true, the monster still moves...
Sooo how to use it?
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:22 pm
by Magus
which stationary function? I don't see any stationary function.
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:26 pm
by Akatana
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:26 pm
by Montis
It's not really a function but more a property...
http://www.grimrock.net/modding/asset-d ... reference/
No clue how to use it though other than cloning an existing monster and then setting the stationary to true.
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:28 pm
by Magus
Oh in the asset definition, usually it should work with stationary = true.
EDIT: did you miss the "t" in stationary maybe?
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:29 pm
by Akatana
But it does not
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:16 pm
by Uljanov
I am also interested in this. How does this stationary thing work and can the monster be made so that it is first stationary (not doing anything, just "guarding" on one spot) and then when the party picks up a certain item (or moves on "right" spot), the monster will move normally and attack the party.
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:35 pm
by Akatana
Uljanov wrote:I am also interested in this. How does this stationary thing work and can the monster be made so that it is first stationary (not doing anything, just "guarding" on one spot) and then when the party picks up a certain item (or moves on "right" spot), the monster will move normally and attack the party.
You can make this with blockers
Just place an invisible pressure plate on the ground and then link it to a script where you simply deactivate the blockers around the monster
Code: Select all
function deactivateBlockers()
blocker_1:deactivate()
blocker_2:deactivate()
...
end
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:05 pm
by Komag
what about the "guarding" option for monsters?
Re: stationary monsters
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:10 pm
by Akatana
Yup already figured this out
But now my new problem is that I dont know how to remove an item from an alcove