Page 5 of 15

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:03 pm
by petri
Lmaoboat wrote:Is there or will there be any way to select all the assets on the map out of the list instead of clicking on each on in the map?
Rectangle select with the mouse?

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:08 pm
by antti
petri wrote:
Lmaoboat wrote:Is there or will there be any way to select all the assets on the map out of the list instead of clicking on each on in the map?
Rectangle select with the mouse?
I think he's looking for something like a hierarchy view. The assets can currently only be selected from the map.

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:10 pm
by Lmaoboat
Woops, I meant like a big list of all of them.
antti wrote:
petri wrote:
Lmaoboat wrote:Is there or will there be any way to select all the assets on the map out of the list instead of clicking on each on in the map?
Rectangle select with the mouse?
I think he's looking for something like a hierarchy view. The assets can currently only be selected from the map.
Yeah, that's what I meant. I have a bunch of invisible pressure plates triggering the put under them to close, and it takes a while to click each one. Probably would have also been easier if I had copy and pasted them together in a way that the pit and trigger would always have the same number.

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:28 pm
by lowzei
Well, sadly i'm out of time already.

The triggers i tried were working as intended, same for the three LUA riddles i built, so, so far so great. You might want to alter the initial states (to lower cases) as they are case sensitive and you might get confused in LUA otherwise.

What i'm still not fond of is the concept of having to change cursor states (for drawing a map, adding elements and connecting them), generally and the way it is implemented. Deleting an item or moving around in the map could be easier imo (btw. can you move items at all?).

Anyway, great editor and best DM like editor out there. And maybe someday there will be more support for spells and so on. Again, great work and thanks for providing an capable editor. Now if i only could do all this on my Mac instead. :)

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:47 pm
by Akatana
Will there be a standallone version of the Dungeon Editor? So that you dont have to always start Grimrock just to build on your Dungeon

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:40 pm
by Lmaoboat
Is there a file for the standard items or monsters anywhere so we can get an idea of how they work? Also, could one make a throwing item that returns to the user? Either by not consuming ammo or spawning a new one when used?

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:44 pm
by antti
Lmaoboat wrote:Is there a file for the standard items or monsters anywhere so we can get an idea of how they work?
The object definitions etc. will be included in the asset pack which we are working on releasing (bugs and such take priority though!). 8-)

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:48 pm
by WaterKnight
Spawner causes a crash when trying to spawn an invalid entity. There are graphic glitches now and then, which draw black shapes, blotchiness on the running preview screen. How about a coordinates display of the current cursor position?

And because of crashes etc. some automatic backup would not be bad.

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:54 pm
by Huchickut
petri wrote:
Huchickut wrote:Good thing is, I know exactly what caused it. Normally when you place the player spawn it just moves it. But when you place one while you have the original one selected (so it shows the details in the Inspector) it crashes.
Thanks for the bug report! I assume you mean the starting_location entity, right?
Yes, that's what I mean.

Re: Dungeon Editor Public Beta

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:03 am
by Lmaoboat
I tried setting the attack speed of a lightning rod to 1 second in cloneObject using coolDownTime, and it crashed the editor. Is this a bug, or did I use the wrong thing?
Here's the item data:

Code: Select all

cloneObject{
	name = "Wand",
	baseObject = "lightning_rod",
	uiName = "wand",
	charges = "1",
	coolDownTime = "3",
	emptyItem = "Wand",
}
And the error:

Code: Select all

[string "AttackPanel.lua"]:0: attempt to compare number with string
stack traceback:
	[string "AttackPanel.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "AttackPanel.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Gui.lua"]: in function 'draw'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in main chunk
	[C]: in function 'xpcall'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'preview'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function 'error'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'handleError'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'preview'
	[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk




Never mind, found out I wasn't supposed to use quotes around the value of the cooldowntime