Editor fatal error

Have trouble running Legend of Grimrock 2 or do you have questions about the purchasing options? Look for help here.
Dewalrus

Editor fatal error

Post by Dewalrus »

I have been building a dungeon in the Editor for three months and nearing completion. All of a sudden I'm getting this error when I try to load the project:

mod_assets/scripts/dungeon.lua:9775: attempt to index a nil value

The project loaded just fine this morning and I worked with it for about half an hour. All I did was adjust a few teleporters and floor triggers, then went to work on a new level that I just created yesterday. I had barely opened the new level when an error message popped up and the Editor crashed to the Desktop. I can't say for sure, but I believe this occurred when I went to "update" the Preview pane. I did not preserve or even read that error, so unfortunately I don't know what it said. I restarted the game, tried to load the project, and got the above "nil value" message. I cold rebooted and tried again, with the same result.

I would assume that something I did in the Editor this morning caused this, except for one very key point: when I tried to open a previous version of the project that I had saved under a different file name weeks ago, that file gave me the exact same error. And I haven't touched that version for more than a month.

Any ideas what's going on and how I could fix it? It will be devastating if it turns out that three months of work is down the drain. :cry:
minmay

Re: Editor fatal error

Post by minmay »

Your dungeon.lua is a plaintext file with lua code, so if you simply open it in your text editor and go to line 9775, you should be able to find and fix the problem.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
Dewalrus

Post by Dewalrus »