Page 1 of 1

My Custom dungeon is crashing the game and the editor

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:01 pm
by Ulfsark
Hey guys, So whenever I try and play the mod I have been working on in the editor it just crashes the game instantly.

When I exported it and ran it through the game I received this error message.

If anybody could point me in the right direction that would be awesome since this is inhibiting my progress on my dungeon. Thanks!

Also I can upload my dungeon file if that would help at all.

Code: Select all

[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]:0: attempt to call a table value
stack traceback:
	[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'onMessageReceived'
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'sendMessageToEntity'
	[string "MessageSystem.lua"]: in function 'broadcastMessage'
	[string "TriggerEvents.lua"]: in function 'fire'
	[string "PressurePlate.lua"]: in function 'pressed'
	[string "PressurePlate.lua"]: in function 'updateState'
	[string "PressurePlate.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'updateEntities'
	[string "Dungeon.lua"]: in function 'updateLevels'
	[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
	[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk

Re: My Custom dungeon is crashing the game and the editor

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:46 pm
by Komag
It's not a very specific crash report, so it's a little harder to diagnose. It sounds like at some point it is triggered by a pressure plate - did you recently link a pressure plate to script entity that has some table in it with a complex function?

Re: My Custom dungeon is crashing the game and the editor

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:15 pm
by Ulfsark
Komag wrote:It's not a very specific crash report, so it's a little harder to diagnose. It sounds like at some point it is triggered by a pressure plate - did you recently link a pressure plate to script entity that has some table in it with a complex function?
Thanks for the reply. I am using pressure plates to open the shop mod that is made by Alois that you can find here on the forums. However it has worked fine and I have not made any changes to it (unless I did something by accident) I do know the shop uses tables. I will go through the framework for the mod and make sure nothing got changed by accident or files got moved.

Thanks Kormag for your help!