Level-Up Button?

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
welchdrew
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:20 am
Location: Home of the Yoopers, Michigan's Upper Peninsula

Level-Up Button?

Post by welchdrew »

Well its been a while since I last worked on my LoG custom dungeon, and I remember seeing in someone elses dungeon that they had this test button that leveled up the person in the bottom right of the party, I am just wondering how to do that because I'd like to have such a button for test purposes in my dungeon.

I am a serious newbie at scripting.
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: Level-Up Button?

Post by Komag »

see the scripting reference page:
http://www.grimrock.net/modding/scripting-reference/

under the Champion section:
Champion:levelUp()
Gives just enough experience points to get to the next level.
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
thomson
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:55 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Contact:

Re: Level-Up Button?

Post by thomson »

1. Add a script to the library. Put in the script this:

Code: Select all

function levelup()
    party:getChampion(1):levelUp()
end
2. Add a lever or other trigger that activates that script. This will level up first champion.

You can call it 4 times with values 1 to 4 if you want all your party member to level up.
[MOD] Eye of the Beholder: Waterdeep sewers forum sources; Grimtools (LoG1 -> LoG2 converter) sources
User avatar
welchdrew
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:20 am
Location: Home of the Yoopers, Michigan's Upper Peninsula

Re: Level-Up Button?

Post by welchdrew »

thomson wrote:1. Add a script to the library. Put in the script this:

Code: Select all

function levelup()
    party:getChampion(1):levelUp()
end
2. Add a lever or other trigger that activates that script. This will level up first champion.

You can call it 4 times with values 1 to 4 if you want all your party member to level up.

Thanks alot! Now I have a level up button for testing purposes!
Post Reply