Page 1 of 4

Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:01 pm
by petri
Beta-1.2.10 has just been sent to Steam. The update should be available in a few hours and update automatically. If Steam has problems updating the build you can try restarting the Steam client and clicking on Verify Integrity of Game Cache in Legend of Grimrock / Properties.

It is important that all testing happens with the latest version. Please check that beta-1.2.10 is displayed in the main menu.

If you think you have found a bug, please check that the bug is not in the Known Issues list before reporting (see below).

This build adds a new powerful feature: entities can now be dynamically destroyed from the dungeon. Since the engine does not support modifying dungeon geometry on the fly (this feature was not needed by the original Grimrock dungeon), there is a caveat. Destroying an object that replaces a wall or floor (such as alcove or pressure_plate), causes a black hole to appear (heh, that sounds quite ominous!). You can workaround this by placing a custom decoration object to hide the hole when you destroy an object.

Thanks to everybody for relentless testing! Have fun!

Changes since beta-1.2.9:
- standard Lua functions tonumber, tostring, type, pairs, ipairs and unpack work now in dungeon init scripts
- new scripting functions: Teleporter:isActivated(), Timer:isActivated(), Item:getWeight(), Item:getUIName(), Item:setStackSize(), Item:setCharges()
- added download indicator for mods that were just subscribed to but download hasn't finished yet
- editor window initial position and size can be configured by setting editorWindowPosX, editorWindowPosY,
editorWindowWidth and editorWindowHeight in grimrock.cfg
- added support for destroying entities (e.g. wall_button_1:destroy())
- an error message is shown if published mod size exceeds 100MB (Steam limit)
- bug fix: the "Reload Project..." in the File-menu should read "Reload Project" since there's no dialog after it
- bug fix: when you add an element by right clicking on the map, several entities are added
- bug fix: crash if party falls into a "double pit" (two pits over each other) and there is no level below the last pit
- bug fix: game crashes if character sheet is open and last character is killed by onUseItem hook
- bug fix: just subscribed mods have "Delete" button instead of "Unsubscribe" in choose dungeon dialog
- bug fix: initial window size isn't quite right when going from native full res to windowed mode
- bug fix: crash when pressing Ctrl-X or Ctrl-V in code editor while no text is selected
- bug fix: editor crashes randomly after about 15 minutes (XAudio2_7.dll_unloaded)

Known Issues:
- textures & sound are not reloaded even if the project is reloaded (the editor has to be restarted)
- Steam think grimrock process is still running if web browser was launched by selecting Help from menu before shutting down the game
- clicking "resume" from the pause menu throws away the item on the mouse cursor
- when opening the automap in the small preview window, the text names of the levels are HUGE
- pasting text with newline characters to a singleline textbox causes part of the text to disappear (single line text boxes don't filter newlines)
- dungeon description box is tiny
- if you give setMouseItem() an item that's placed already somewhere on the level, and then player tries to place that item on the ground, the game crashes "item is already placed".
- cloned Orb of Radiance does not glow
- cloned Uggardian does not have the flame effect
- cloned cube crashes the editor
- setMouseItem(spawn("dagger")) and variants do not work from console (scripts work ok)

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:28 pm
by Montis
Nice additions! Like it very much! It's always such a very good feeling when developers listen to the community. 8-)

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:40 pm
by Komag
very nice!

I've noticed it loads more slowly. It's only a couple more seconds, so it's no problem at all, but it used to be nearly instantaneous.

I like not having to resize the editor every time I start, thank you!

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:45 pm
by petri
Loading shouldn't be any slower.. Are you sure? (first time start is always slower because the disk cache is empty)

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:45 pm
by Shroom
Great work as ever - Its really appreciated!

Edit:- I noticed no difference in load time - lightning fast - and I love the fact that I dont have to resize it as it always start clipping into the second monitor. :mrgreen:

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:46 pm
by cromcrom
Thank you so much for listening to your community, and the fast updates. I express my gratitude for this wonderful tool and sharing spirit of yours.

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:47 pm
by petri
Montis wrote:Nice additions! Like it very much! It's always such a very good feeling when developers listen to the community. 8-)
Glad to be of service! :D

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:51 pm
by Scorcher24
Woo, destroy() :).

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:04 pm
by Komag
found an interesting "bug" (probably there from the beginning, not new with this update)

When I set a pressure plate to trigger a script to spawn a torch named "fasttorch1", if I step on the plate a second time I get a crash-to-editor saying "duplicate entity id". Fine

The problem is when I have monsters in the room, and I am testing some other part of my dungeon, if I'm currently on another level of the dungeon and the monsters step on the plate two time, I get a crash-to-editor, but there is no explanation!

I had done some new things and was testing them and got a sudden crash, having no idea why. Then I remembered that I never fixed that old fasttorch1 problem, and wondered if the monsters were triggering it.

If the monsters trigger it while I'm somewhere on that level, I get the "duplicate entity id" notice on the script. But if I'm on some other level in the preview when it happens, there is no notice, thus no clue why it crashed.

Re: Beta-1.2.10 now available!

Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:16 pm
by Komag
petri wrote:Loading shouldn't be any slower.. Are you sure? (first time start is always slower because the disk cache is empty)
when I start Grimrock and see the menu, when I click Dungeon Editor it used to instantly start the editor. Now it waits approximately 5 seconds with nothing on my Windows desktop, then it starts. When it starts, I see "Loading" (and the gear pic) for less than a second, then the editor is fully loaded, so that part hasn't changed. But I never used to have to wait the 5 seconds.

This happens every time so far, even when I do File-Exit(F4) to go straight back to the game and click Dungeon Editor again. (by the way, I think "Exit" should say "back to Grimrock game" and there should be a "Quit" that does the same as closing the window with red x)

EDIT - well, I tried a full computer restart, and now I don't have the delay anymore!
EDIT - tested on my laptop: 1.2.9, no delay, 1.2.10, no delay.