Page 1 of 2

Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:50 pm
by The Real Pyxx
In my 1st room I created I was hoping to make an alcove that had a note that when you picked it up it would open the door for you. However, It started giving me an error, so I deleted the note instead and added a pull chain to the door. I only have one note so far in my custom dungeon and it's listed as note_1 so I know it's not giving me an error for that particular one. I looked into the LUA lines on microsoft word, but I was unable to find the line in question. The error reads as: Warning! Responder not found with id: note_2. So I''m a little puzzled as to why this is still happening when I had already taken out note_2 and made sure that no responder was dependant upon note_2 in question. Could someone please help?

As far as the Multiple Trigger question; What I like to know is that If I wanted to use 4 alcoves in order to open a door or multiple pressure plates in order to open a door, or use more than one key; or possibly walking into a room automatically locking the door behind you start spawning mobs until room is cleared then finding keys to open a room. How would I acomplish this? Maybe use the above as a scenario example?

Say I walk into a room, Door slams shut behind me, mobs start spawning, but I'm unable to stop the spawns cuz I have to put 4 items into 4 different alcoves and put items on 6 different pressure plates just to get them to stop spawning and open the door I came in. But the other Door exit has 2 keys I have to locate in order to open; How would I be able to do this without getting errors saying that certain objects are not responding to the event in question?

One last thing, sorry for this edit here... But I'm also having issues with making Teleports activate from responding triggers on different floors. Example would be if I hit a pressure plate to open a trap door only to drop down to have a teleporter transport me back up to that floor again. How come my pressure plate is not responding to the teleporter activation?

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:07 pm
by Shroom
The Real Pyxx wrote: As far as the Multiple Trigger question; What I like to know is that If I wanted to use 4 alcoves in order to open a door or multiple pressure plates in order to open a door, or use more than one key; or possibly walking into a room automatically locking the door behind you start spawning mobs until room is cleared then finding keys to open a room. How would I acomplish this? Maybe use the above as a scenario example?

Say I walk into a room, Door slams shut behind me, mobs start spawning, but I'm unable to stop the spawns cuz I have to put 4 items into 4 different alcoves and put items on 6 different pressure plates just to get them to stop spawning and open the door I came in. But the other Door exit has 2 keys I have to locate in order to open; How would I be able to do this without getting errors saying that certain objects are not responding to the event in question?
The error I cant help you with.

Multiple triggers - well you have a number of options. Being a coder I think I would do it this way

Have a timer - this will orchestrate the whole thing. Each time the timer trigger, run a script entity

Code: Select all

function checkEverything()

if pressure_plate_1:isDown() and pressure_plate_2:isDown() and pressure_plate_3:isDown() and pressure_plate_4:isDown()
   if checkContents(alcove_1, "torch") then
      timer_1:deactivate() 
   end
else
  --spawn monsters etc
end

end

function checkContents(location,item)
   for object in location:containedItems() do
      if object.name == item then
         return true
      end
   end
   return false
end

build it up to be as complicated as you like - hope this helps

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:13 pm
by The Real Pyxx
Sorry I should have mentioned I'm a noob at this and only using the coding that came with the basic editor. I know absolutely nothing about LUA or coding lol So what you just mentioned is alien to me. But I'm willing to learn. I was just using the above as a scenario.. but I do have multiple scenarios similar to that one. Like this one where I have multiple teleports porting me all over the place just to get to one area.. and the teleports are all activated by one switch. Once it's activated the teleports come on and off every 3 secs. But as I mentioned in my edit note above.. I'm having issues getting teleports to activate from a different floor. It's telling me responder not found.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:22 pm
by Shroom
From what I have gathered, connectors apart from teleport targets do not span floors - however, you can do so with lua.

Try a simple setup

Add a button - button_1
Add a lua script
Add a teleport - teleport_1


button is on level 1, lua enitity is on level 1 and teleport on level 2

in lua script, add a function - so copy the code below and paste it in the script entity

Code: Select all

function turnOnTeleport()
    teleport_1:activate()
end
Add a connector from button to lua entity

Now when button pushed, teleport is turned on, even though it is on another level. You can set the teleport end points as normal and change levels as required.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:29 pm
by The Real Pyxx
ok so where would I go to type in the LUA lines and how to import those lines into my dungeon editor I'm working on? I'm not seeing any advance options for inputting LUA or script.

Oh did I forget to mention this dang thing is not letting me put anything into the Alcoves? lmao... geez I just can't win from losing..ok how do I solve this issue.. In order to be able to put things into an alcove I must make sure that they what? Basic editor stuff info only please.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:44 pm
by Shroom
One of the logic items is a lua entity. - its in the asset list on the left

To manually add an item into an alcove, select the alcove using the cursor and the type the name of the object you want and click add (is that what you mean?)

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:30 am
by Komag
the thing is, you haven't yet learned the BASICS, but you're asking ADVANCED questions, so when you get answers, they end up being mostly meaningless to you.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:57 am
by The Real Pyxx
Komag wrote:the thing is, you haven't yet learned the BASICS, but you're asking ADVANCED questions, so when you get answers, they end up being mostly meaningless to you.
I'm a quick learner; I'm not trying to be rude here, but it seems you are judging me without even knowing what I'm capable of. And a little help doesn't hurt anyone.. So that's why these forums are here for. To provide help to those who need it. And this editor allows for those who don't know the basics to be able to learn them with ease. So please refrain from being a critic.

@Shroom, now that I've replied to the critic...... anyways.. no sorry let me clarify, while testing the game.. If I was to take something off the floor or from my invetory, to put into an Alcove just to activate it for a door or something... That's what I meant... not picking it up from the alcove.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:08 am
by Komag
The Real Pyxx wrote:Sorry I should have mentioned I'm a noob at this and only using the coding that came with the basic editor. I know absolutely nothing about LUA or coding lol So what you just mentioned is alien to me. But I'm willing to learn.
I'm not trying to be rude or unhelpful. I'm just suggesting you learn more of the basics first, which is a more natural progression and builds a better foundation. Like, first learn how to link two pressure plates to open one door, instead of 6 plates, 8 keys, 4 alcoves, etc etc etc. There is already info on the forums to teach the simpler versions, and then you can naturally expand from there and it will make more sense for you.

Re: Note_2 Error Bug and multiple trigger question

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:42 am
by The Real Pyxx
Komag wrote:
The Real Pyxx wrote:Sorry I should have mentioned I'm a noob at this and only using the coding that came with the basic editor. I know absolutely nothing about LUA or coding lol So what you just mentioned is alien to me. But I'm willing to learn.
I'm not trying to be rude or unhelpful. I'm just suggesting you learn more of the basics first, which is a more natural progression and builds a better foundation. Like, first learn how to link two pressure plates to open one door, instead of 6 plates, 8 keys, 4 alcoves, etc etc etc. There is already info on the forums to teach the simpler versions, and then you can naturally expand from there and it will make more sense for you.
well I did say I was just using the above as an example.. I suppose I should have said 2 or more,, that way people don't take me literally. lol