Page 2 of 3

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.5.0]

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:27 pm
by Isaac
maneus wrote: Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:52 pm ...But thank you for your reply.
No slight intended.

You did state it in your post, (and I missed it). It's easy to miss the export format, and someone who has might even still phrase their question as you did... with or without the quotes.

As for the image, I am not at home, and do not have access to LoG1 nor above Blender v,2.82.

It's a strange bug then; probably best for minmay to investigate.

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.5.0]

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:38 pm
by minmay
You're right, it doesn't work. Fortunately this seems to be a one line fix; look for this block at line 2492:

Code: Select all

        # write animation to file depending on Grimrock version
        if settings.grimrock_version == 'LOG1':
            anim.write_v1(file_object)
        else:
            anim.write_v2(file_object)
and change it to:

Code: Select all

        # write animation to file depending on Grimrock version
        if settings.grimrock_version == 'LOG1':
            anim.version = 1
            anim.write_v1(file_object)
        else:
            anim.write_v2(file_object)
Sorry for the inconvenience, I'm amazed that I never tested that in-game...



I have been working on version 1.5.1, which will have vertex color support fixed. Another issue I found is that some bones in rigged models can get their transforms messed up when exporting (fjeld_warg.fbx is a good example), which I made a lame workaround for, which will probably end up being the permanent "fix" because I can't figure out why this issue is happening...

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.5.0]

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:54 pm
by maneus
Thank you minmay for the fix. :D

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2022 5:34 am
by minmay
Updated to work in Blender 3.2+. Sorry, I totally missed that there was a breaking change until today.

Also finally added vertex color support. Under normal circumstances, vertex colors are ignored by both Grimrock games. However, if you are using umods to use custom shaders, you can access vertex colors in those shaders.

Trouble exporting animations.

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2022 7:46 pm
by DaggorathMaster
I'm having trouble exporting animations for a monster I made. (An imp, if you must know).
The animations keep coming out as 24 bytes in size. I have more bones than that, times more frames!

No error message.

The hierarchy is right (mesh and rig parented to local srt, root node, game matrix - and those are imported empties).
I ungrouped the channels (though maybe it's only an issue if some are grouped and some aren't).

I have exported edited animations for existing monsters, and those worked fine, e.g., a monster using the ogre skeleton and animations which can also breathe an element, and a wizard who isn't too lazy to walk sometimes instead of warping only.

But this from-scratch monster won't export a bit of useful info.

I'm using the exporter 1.5.0 and Blender 2.90.1.

Big fun mod in progress. Needs some plot glue, a working final boss (animation and enhanced AI), more allies, and - the hardest part sometimes - a better title.

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2022 8:11 pm
by minmay
Would you be willing to send me the .blend file? My chances of being able to fix that would be much better that way...

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2022 8:26 pm
by DaggorathMaster
Sure, how should I send it?
I have Google Drive.

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2022 8:38 pm
by minmay
A Google Drive link would be perfect! You can PM it to me on the forums (my inbox has room for 3 more private messages...) or on the Discord server.

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2022 10:24 pm
by DaggorathMaster
Oh looks like I missed making it public. [CLICK]

Re: Blender importer/exporter [1.6.0]

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2022 12:00 am
by DaggorathMaster
OK great (answered not on this forum, but by minmay).

The objects were in a collection, not in the main scene.

So I just needed to select all, hit m, and choose "Scene Collection".

IT'S ALIVE! IT'S ALIVE! Or whatever daemons are...