Page 10 of 13

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:31 pm
by Darklord
Happy to help. :)

Daniel.

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:08 am
by isamu
Darklord wrote:Alright I gave this a tinker tonight and got it working! :D I successfully spawned a Tome of Wisdom, so shall use this to make my starting party with additional skill points. (I intend to replay on hard with additional skill points)

I've taken the liberty of updating Seebs guide here for ease of understanding,


1 Download this file from that Seebs has made, you will need to click the link, right click Save As and save it in your LoG folder. (the one with Grimrock.exe)

http://www.seebs.net/tmp/grimrock_console.py

2, Download Python, I used the Python 2.7 from http://www.python.org.

Specifically I run on Windows 7, 64bit and this file below worked for me,

http://www.python.org./ftp/python/2.7.3 ... -2.7.3.msi

3, open a DOS prompt, in Windows 7, click start then type CMD into the search box.

Navigate to your game folder, personally mine was stored in G:\Games\Legend of Grimrock. (to get there I typed g: (press enter) then CD G:\Games\Legend of Grimrock (press enter).

Once there type the below.

c:\python27\python grimrock_console.py

you should see:

found Console.lua
Modifying file...

and get your prompt back, you're set.

4, Next time you start LoG, open options and click the Mute Music Checkbox. Press ~ this opens the console.

You can then do whatever you please bearing in mind,

IT IS VERY EASY TO BREAK YOUR GAME! ALmost Human and myself except no responsibility for this.

So keep anything you do simple, personally like I said at the top, all I have used it for is, creating some Tome's of Wisdom (each gives you 5 skill points)

spawn("tome_wisdom")

Once you are finished escape out of it, then uncheck mute music.

Hope that helps! :)

Daniel.
Darklord those instructions were very clear and detailed. Thank you I'm going to give it a try.

Quick question though....is there a link you can provide containing some console commands? I'm specifically interested in spawning items but don't know where to look.

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:48 am
by seebs
The top of the debug.lua file has a little bit of information... Basically, if you can't tell what to do from that, you probably shouldn't be using a tool this low-level. :)

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:17 am
by Darklord
isamu wrote: Darklord those instructions were very clear and detailed. Thank you I'm going to give it a try.

Quick question though....is there a link you can provide containing some console commands? I'm specifically interested in spawning items but don't know where to look.
Happy to help, Seebs made the extractor of course so props to him. :)

Sure just type like so,

spawn("tome_wisdom")

Here is a full list of items,

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1991

Daniel.

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:29 pm
by dragonfax
Note that if you are running the game at 1080p or something higher. The console will start as one single thing line at the top of the window. And may not even be noticable. Worse if you have overscan on your TV (where I play these games).

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:19 am
by isamu
Thank you Darklord and Seebs much appreciated :)

@dragfonfax....
dragonfax wrote:Note that if you are running the game at 1080p or something higher. The console will start as one single thing line at the top of the window. And may not even be noticable. Worse if you have overscan on your TV (where I play these games).
Oh man, where do I start? I can't begin to tell you how immensely frustrated I was upon trying to figure out why I couldn't see the console. I came THIS close to making a reply here saying Dark's method didn't work! Lo and behold, the console was opening but I couldn't see the damn thing!! :lol:

My projection screen was positioned a bit too high so the stop was a little chopped off and I couldn't see it at all. It's only when I noticed a faint line of text at the very tip top did I realize it was there and that I needed to lower my screen a bit. Even then, at 1080p the console text is EXTREMELY small and you have to practically have your nose at the screen to see it clearly LOL. I know it's not a big deal but I just wanted to vent, since it was driving me up the WALL yesterday! :lol:

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:42 pm
by isamu
Quick question guys....I've learned how to spawn items. But what is the command to spawn duplicates instead of just one?

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:14 pm
by Darklord
isamu wrote:Quick question guys....I've learned how to spawn items. But what is the command to spawn duplicates instead of just one?
Good question, I don't know, if you find out let me know! I just ran the same command several times when I wanted to duplicate an item, it saved the previous info if I recall correctly.

Daniel.

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 7:31 am
by seebs
Darklord wrote:
isamu wrote: Darklord those instructions were very clear and detailed. Thank you I'm going to give it a try.

Quick question though....is there a link you can provide containing some console commands? I'm specifically interested in spawning items but don't know where to look.
Happy to help, Seebs made the extractor of course so props to him. :)
I believe I just altered someone else's extractor. The debug.lua code is all mine, though. :)

Re: Extracting and enabling the console

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:04 am
by Sarnind
I have a problem, I followed the guide but I can not get it to work

C:\Legend of Grimrock>c:\python27\python grimrock_console.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "grimrock_console.py", line 88, in <module>
main()
File "grimrock_console.py", line 22, in main
raise Exception("DSDSSD")
Exception: DSDSSD

C:\Legend of Grimrock>