Page 8 of 37
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:18 am
by Duncan1246
"I have to walk into it":
yes, the correct sequence is: 1- put a pg in a hand 2-one step forward to be under the ladder 3- the pg jump in front of you and you can pick it. Climb the ladder is not of any use, ladder is here only because others attempts to pick the pg had been made in the past.
"I can't take it.":
the only way I can reproduce this issue is when I put the gems in the alternative hands, ie the hands hidden. If the pg is in any visible hand, the pg blocked jump. I can add the other handset in the script, but I think that it's weird to put an item in hand and to hide it in the same moment.
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:02 pm
by Zo Kath Ra
I'm stuck in Under Waste
There's a scroll that says "5 up 4 down 1 down". What does this refer to?
x 24
y 19
facing 2
elevation 2
How do I deactivate the force fields?
How do I open this gate?
x 6
y 17
facing 3
elevation 0
There's an altar with an ice rune in front of it.
What is this altar for?
x 13
y 17
facing 3
elevation 0
What is this lever for?
x 15
y 26
facing 0
elevation 2
edit:
Found another crash bug in Under Waste
I've opened this lock with the ruby key:
x 23
y 20
facing 1
elevation 2
After stepping on this square, any attempt to save the game (even after leaving the square) crashes the game:
x 23
y 22
facing 2
elevation 2
Crash log:
Code: Select all
fw: cannot serialize function with upvalues
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'error'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveValue'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveValue'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveValue'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveValue'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveValue'
[string "Script.lua"]: in function 'saveState'
[string "GameObject.lua"]: in function 'saveState'
[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'saveState'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'saveGame'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'quickSave'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'keyPressed'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'pollEvents'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
I can upload a savegame.
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:31 am
by Duncan1246
Zo Kath Ra wrote:I'm stuck in Under Waste
There's a scroll that says "5 up 4 down 1 down". What does this refer to?
This note left by some ratling give you one solution for the bridge upstairs. But it's a partial clue: you have to find how the buttons are associated with the numbers. As you have a reinitialize button, think to push it first to start from the position suited for the note
How do I deactivate the force fields?
A scroll you have found says: "... I know what to do of the gems, but could not free them from their power cages.
I guess the book kept up there is the key that I miss..." When you have the book, put it on the central altar (rune "Water"), and it's done
How do I open this gate?
Open automatically when you have found how to use the two altars at 3,19 and 3,15
What is this lever for?
Personal lever of the magician to rise the bridge N-S. Avoid to go East 21,17 to operate the bridge
Zo Kath Ra wrote:
After stepping on this square, any attempt to save the game (even after leaving the square) crashes the game:
x 23
y 22
I have forgotten an exit condition, added now.
You can go on without this fix
Open a good save, go on the slab with the dogs and turn to the right 4 times.
In this case, no bug happens.
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:18 pm
by Zo Kath Ra
OK, I've put the "Book of Runes" (whose uiName is actually "Power of the Runes") on the central altar, the one marked with the water rune
=> the force fields are still active
The item name is "tome_of_Runes" and the item ID is "tome_of_Runes_2".
- Why "_2"? Is there more than one Book of Runes in the mod?
- Why is there in a capital letter in the item name and item ID? Typos like that are a source of bugs

- When you put an item on the altar, the mod calls the function "repowerune" in "script_entity_30".
I can't look at the source code of this function, so I can't tell you any more about the bug.
Maybe the function uses the wrong item name or item ID?
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:37 am
by Duncan1246
the force fields are still active >> I don't understand, I have tested in game and it works. The script is very simple:
Code: Select all
function surfaceContains(surface, item)
for _,i in surface:contents() do
if i.go.name == item then
return true
else return false
end
end
end
puton=0
function repowerune()
if puton==0 and surfaceContains(pedestal_22.surface,"tome_of_Runes") then
force_field_28.controller:deactivate()
force_field_29.controller:deactivate()
force_field_30.controller:deactivate()
spawn("whiteflash",self.go.level,12,17,1,0)
end
puton=1
end
The flag "puton" can't be changed elsewhere than by the function "repowerune", so I don't see anything wrong.
EDIT: in reading once more, I see it: the flag is changed as soon as you put an item even if it isn't the good one. The line "flag=1" ought to be inside the loop. I change it.
To debug, i don't know the good command in console to change puton (it seems that "puton=0" don't work), but you can type in the console the three deactivate lines.
The item name is "tome_of_Runes" and the item ID is "tome_of_Runes_2" >> it's because the game had kept an "historical" value of the ID. This tome is the only one in game.
- Why is there in a capital letter in the item name and item ID? Typos like that are a source of bugs >>
not my choice, it's an imported asset, but I can change it if it's a buggy thing...
The difference between name and UI is imo a "plus" information (for the players finding it before informations on its use) but perhaps it's a bad idea.
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:58 am
by Zo Kath Ra
Duncan1246 wrote:EDIT: in reading once more, I see it: the flag is changed as soon as you put an item even if it isn't the good one. The line "flag=1" ought to be inside the loop. I change it.
To debug, i don't know the good command in console to change puton (it seems that "puton=0" don't work), but you can type in the console the three deactivate lines.
Yes, the first thing I tried was putting a water clay tile on the pedestal.
You should also modify the "surfaceContains" function, because it only checks the first item on the surface.
If there is more than one item on the surface, the functions only returns true the item was put on the surface before all other items.
Suggested change:
Code: Select all
function surfaceContains(surface, item)
for _,i in surface:contents() do
if i.go.name == item then
return true
end
end
return false
end
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:31 pm
by Duncan1246
Zo Kath Ra wrote:)
You should also modify the "surfaceContains" function, because it only checks the first item on the surface.
If there is more than one item on the surface, the functions only returns true the item was put on the surface before all other items.
Interesting suggestion that I probably have benefit to use in some places, but not here: I try to don't leave some important steps to hazardous trials (but I understand that the player can think in another way). Put the book here is a part of a ritual and information on it can be found (wizard note) to do the right thing...
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:34 pm
by Zo Kath Ra
Duncan1246 wrote:How do I deactivate the force fields?
A scroll you have found says: "... I know what to do of the gems, but could not free them from their power cages.
I guess the book kept up there is the key that I miss..." When you have the book, put it on the central altar (rune "Water"), and it's done
So, if I give the Book of Runes to the guy in the Aerion bookstore *before* putting it on the water altar, I can't complete the game?
Or is there a way to get the Book of Runes back from the guy in the bookstore?
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:05 pm
by Duncan1246
Zo Kath Ra wrote:So, if I give the Book of Runes to the guy in the Aerion bookstore *before* putting it on the water altar, I can't complete the game?
Or is there a way to get the Book of Runes back from the guy in the bookstore?
The answer is
If you give the book, you can't get it back at first, but all is still possible. Concerning Underwaste, without the book you can't get the power gems, but if you have some power gems found elsewhere (they are more than necessary), you can proceed further.
Another clue: first, if you use the book to enter the library, you are not obliged to give it, and second, you have (I think) found an important note in Croosroads concerning the library allowing you to enter without the book
Re: FINISTERRAE first release
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:54 pm
by Zo Kath Ra
Octaedron
x 4
y 17
facing 1
elevation 4
level 22
Pull the lever down, then up, then down again
=> crash
Same with the other levers.