Page 53 of 75
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:53 pm
by THOM
Okay - I'll take over the file on sunday. If someone wants to work on it before - do it.
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:38 am
by sps999
I was just checking in on the mod, and it looks like things are kicking into some of the final changes.
Concerning my room, Potion Labs, I have had a few people test the room and based on the way they played through the room I decided to at one point change a hint given to the player. I was planning on implementing this change myself but I currently do not have access to the dropbox file.
Simply, the message of "ss_note_story", located at tile 27,6, would be changed to the following hint instead of what it used to be. This version is abridged to not force players through a wall of text to get instructions on how to solve the main puzzle:
I have found some dying, or rather soon
to be dying, patients and have begun
experimenting on them.
I'll go back to bed as soon as I recall which
Recipe I gave all four patients.
The change is minor enough that I know it would not be a priority to implement; however, the change to the text is easy enough that if somebody decides to update the text it should only take a minute. I also imagine it would be quicker and easier to organize than to make the change than to send me dropbox access to make the change myself.
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 10:33 am
by THOM
Okay, I have the file now and will work on it.
Can take a while...
sps999, I will add your change. Never mind.
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:58 am
by THOM
Hey everybody. I've neary finished the implementation of my second room.
But something weired happend at the moment: After a few minutes of gameplay (editor-mode) the game crashes with the following message
Code: Select all
=== Software Failure ===
[string "GameObject.lua"]:0: bad argument #1 to 'removeNode' (Node expected, got nil)
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'removeNode'
[string "GameObject.lua"]: in function 'destroy'
[string "Map.lua"]: in function 'destroy'
[string "Dungeon.lua"]: in function 'unload'
[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'stopPreview'
[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'preview'
[string "DungeonEditor.lua"]: in function 'update'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk
I have no idea where this comes from. Can anybody assist?
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:36 am
by minmay
Can you provide any sort of context as to where the error occurred? What were you doing in the game at the time?
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:57 am
by Isaac
... and does this happen for just doing nothing but letting time pass?
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:06 am
by minmay
To be clear, this almost certainly happens because someone is trying to destroy a GameObject that is not on a map.
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:15 am
by THOM
hm - I've added a function that spawns randomly a dust-particle object with a destroySelf stat.
It could happen, that one of this particle-objects is spawned outside the map (they are spawned at coordinates like "party.x+2, party.y")
I assume, this is the problem... ???
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:19 am
by minmay
Even if you somehow manage to put something at coordinates that are outside the map's bounds (this is really hard to do since almost everything will raise an error if you try), it would still be on the map.
Examples of GameObjects that are not on a map:
- items inside the party's inventory
- items inside containers
- items inside a monster's inventory
Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:46 am
by THOM
Yep - I was right. A few tests and I found out, that my spawning-function was the evil-doer. I changed some entries - now it works.
Tomorrow I will upload my file and someone else can grab it.