Page 6 of 36
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:10 am
by Blichew
Neikun wrote:
I'm getting the sneaking suspicion that anything at all that you might want to do in the game can be handled by alcoves.
Would you mind testing something for me ? (I'm super busy @ work for at least few next hours)
If you put an alcove slightly behind a wall, can you still put items in there ? If not, how this can be achieved ?
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:05 am
by Ixnatifual
Some really cool stuff going on in this thread.
I was wondering about putting stuff on the prison_bench myself, but didn't consider all the other potential "alcoves."
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:20 pm
by Neikun
Blichew wrote:Neikun wrote:
I'm getting the sneaking suspicion that anything at all that you might want to do in the game can be handled by alcoves.
Would you mind testing something for me ? (I'm super busy @ work for at least few next hours)
If you put an alcove slightly behind a wall, can you still put items in there ? If not, how this can be achieved ?
Hmm. There's a wall model something like wall_drainage or something that if you place an item behind the wall, the player can see it in the drainage and pick it up.
Note: you could also use this to hint an illusory wall, because if you place floor behind it, you can walk through it.
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:23 pm
by Neikun
Ixnatifual wrote:Some really cool stuff going on in this thread.
I was wondering about putting stuff on the prison_bench myself, but didn't consider all the other potential "alcoves."
I first started saying
what if when Almost Human told use all that altars are alcoves.
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:35 pm
by crisman
I'm having a issue with the sword statue. I wanted to try the same stuff, just for fun, with the sword statue instead of the spear one and... my editor crashes when I try to place it in the dungeon.
I've used the same exactly code I've used for the spear statue so far, changed only the model name (useless to say that
). It is only me??
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:42 pm
by Neikun
crisman wrote:I'm having a issue with the sword statue. I wanted to try the same stuff, just for fun, with the sword statue instead of the spear one and... my editor crashes when I try to place it in the dungeon.
I've used the same exactly code I've used for the spear statue so far, changed only the model name (useless to say that
). It is only me??
Lemme give it a try.
Also, post what you used for script
I'm not having a problem.
Also, it should be noted that the sword in the statues hand is the Dismantler.
Also, the sword in his hand is smaller than the Dismantler. The should make tweaking easier =D
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:34 pm
by Neikun
Here's the sword statue as an alcove.
Code: Select all
defineObject{
name = "temple_gladiator_statue_alcove_sword",
class = "Alcove",
model = "assets/models/env/temple_gladiator_statue_dismantler.fbx",
anchorPos = vec(-0.318, 1.424, -0.08),
anchorRotation = vec(35,253,148),
targetPos = vec(-0.318,1.424, -0.08),
targetSize = vec(0.1, 0.8, 0.2),
onInsertItem = function(self, item)
return item.name == "dismantler" and self:getItemCount() == 0
end,
placement = "wall",
replacesWall = true,
statueBase = true,
editorIcon = 92,
}
I may or may not do the helmet.
If anyone wants to try it, it's a helmet of valor.
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:29 am
by Neikun
This one's a little strange.
Not sure how I feel about it, to be honest.
That's this alcove:
Code: Select all
defineObject{
name= "nonalcove_wall",
class = "Alcove",
model = "assets/models/env/dungeon_secret_door.fbx",
anchorPos = vec(0, 0,-0.035),
anchorRotation = vec(0,0,0),
targetPos = vec(3,3, 1),
targetSize = vec(0, 0, 0),
placement = "wall",
replacesWall = false,
editorIcon = 92,
}
with this item inside it.:
Code: Select all
defineObject{
name = "wallplating",
class = "Item",
uiName = "wallplate",
model = "assets/models/env/prison_secret_door.fbx",
gfxIndex = 96,
weight = 100.0,
}
I don't know how I would stop the player from being able to click the item on the alcove though.
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:57 am
by crisman
Neikun wrote:crisman wrote:I'm having a issue with the sword statue. I wanted to try the same stuff, just for fun, with the sword statue instead of the spear one and... my editor crashes when I try to place it in the dungeon.
I've used the same exactly code I've used for the spear statue so far, changed only the model name (useless to say that
). It is only me??
Lemme give it a try.
Also, post what you used for script
I'm not having a problem.
Also, it should be noted that the sword in the statues hand is the Dismantler.
Also, the sword in his hand is smaller than the Dismantler. The should make tweaking easier =D
Okay, it's because I've called the model temple_gladiator_statue_sword instead of temple_gladiator_statue_dismantler
Everything should be fine! Thanks!
I'll try out the helm of valor stuff...
Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov
Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:38 am
by crisman
Helmet of valor stuff. I think it can be tweaked much better, though.
defineObject{
name = "statue_alcove_sword_helmet",
class = "Alcove",
anchorPos = vec(-0.055, 1.99, 0.167),
anchorRotation = vec(13,0,0),
targetPos = vec(0.027,2.13, 0.25),
targetSize = vec(0.3, 0.3, 0.3),
model = "assets/models/env/temple_gladiator_statue_dismantler.fbx",
onInsertItem = function(self, item)
return item.name == "helmet_valor" and self:getItemCount() == 0
end,
placement = "wall",
replacesWall = true,
editorIcon = 92,
}
And I want to show you my winner of The Most Useless Alcove in Grimrock
Unfortunately, it's buggy, the hook is floating in midair (I've took it from pillar decorations), so I won't bother posting the asset, but if you wish it just ask me!