General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by petri »

antti wrote:
McSkivv wrote:I think I have found a bug. On the fifth floor of my dungeon I have two trapdoors. (temple_pit with trapdoor checkbox checked.) Using the editor's preview, the trapdoors work as intended, however, when testing with the Custom Dungeon mode, I have found that the trapdoors in question do not exist.
This is peculiar. I can't reproduce this here. Does this happen with all of your pits with trapdoors or just this specific pit?
A save game bug, fixed for 1.2.7
User avatar
Billick
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Billick »

I should clarify, the editor only seems to crash from a script error if it's an externally edited script. If it's an internal script object, the preview exits gracefully and it even shows you where the error occurred (which is nice :D ). Now that I think of it, the crash is definitely a bug, and it should probably behave the same way as if it was an internal script that had an error. To reproduce the crash:

Create a custom monster in the monsters.lua file.
Add something invalid like:

Code: Select all

--This is invalid because health should be an integer instead of a string
cloneObject
{
   name = "big_snail",
   base_object = "snail",
   health = "200",
}
Add your snail to your level near your spawn point
Start the preview
Punch the snail in the face
The editor should crash at this point.
Last edited by Billick on Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Halls of Barrian - current version 1.0.3 - Steam Nexus
Me Grimrock no bozo!
User avatar
Montis
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Montis »

The following item:

Code: Select all

cloneObject{
	name = "teleport_wand",
	baseObject = "whitewood_wand",
	uiName = "Wand of Teleportation",
	coolDownTime = 3,
	weight = 0.5,
	attackMethod = "castWandSpell",
	spell = "blob",
}
gives a Warning! Unkown spell: blob when used, even though it should be defined, as seen in http://www.grimrock.net/modding/list-of ... ed-spells/. It works with another spell.
When destiny calls, the chosen have no choice.

My completed dungeon (LoG1): Hypercube
McSkivv
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:46 am

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by McSkivv »

petri wrote:
antti wrote:
This is peculiar. I can't reproduce this here. Does this happen with all of your pits with trapdoors or just this specific pit?
A save game bug, fixed for 1.2.7
Thanks for the reply.
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3656
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

not sure if this is a bug...
a Button on level 2 seems to have no effect on a Door on level 1. I can make the connection (and blue line and arrow show up on level 1 where the door is), but the Action is blank and nothing can be selected for it.
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Montis
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Montis »

Komag wrote:not sure if this is a bug...
a Button on level 2 seems to have no effect on a Door on level 1. I can make the connection (and blue line and arrow show up on level 1 where the door is), but the Action is blank and nothing can be selected for it.
I think the devs mentioned this a while ago that connections can't go between levels, except for teleporters. So you have to use a workaround that an item in a hidden room somewhere gets teleported to another level and activates a pressure plate there to trigger the wanted effect.
When destiny calls, the chosen have no choice.

My completed dungeon (LoG1): Hypercube
Magus
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:05 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Magus »

Scripts works through levels, for example i use this script in my test map:

Code: Select all

-- Lever in level01 opens the door in level02
function sdoor01()
	if lever01:getLeverState() == "activated" then
		door01:setDoorState("open")
	else
		door01:setDoorState("closed")
	end
end
this works fine, the lever is in the first level(with the script) and the door is in the second level.
User avatar
takis76
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: Athens - Greece

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by takis76 »

I downloaded one mod from Steam Workshop and I created a new party and when I started the game (After the party creation) the game was crashed with error log creation.

attempt to serialize function 'playthesound' with upvalues
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'error'
[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'saveState'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'saveGame'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'autoSave'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'newGame'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'startGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'startGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'confirmStartGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'update'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk


Is this MOD bug or game's bug?
The Mod was "This Rotten Place" by peeba

This might is a main game bug or dungeon incompatibility with the game version :)
User avatar
antti
Posts: 688
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:43 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by antti »

takis76 wrote:I downloaded one mod from Steam Workshop and I created a new party and when I started the game (After the party creation) the game was crashed with error log creation.

attempt to serialize function 'playthesound' with upvalues
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'error'
[string "ScriptEntity.lua"]: in function 'saveState'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'saveGame'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'autoSave'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'newGame'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'startGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'startGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'confirmStartGame'
[string "CharacterGeneration.lua"]: in function 'update'
[string "GameMode.lua"]: in function 'update'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in function 'display'
[string "Grimrock.lua"]: in main chunk


Is this MOD bug or game's bug?
The Mod was "This Rotten Place" by peeba

This might is a main game bug or dungeon incompatibility with the game version :)
Oh, interesting. That's my mod. :)

It seems to work here at least but it could be possible that there might be some bugs relating to creating some certain kind of custom party since when the mod starts, I disable some characters from the party and change the class of the remaining dude.. Do you have more details on what you did exactly when you got it to crash and does it happen every time you try to play the mod?
Steven Seagal of gaming industry
User avatar
takis76
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: Athens - Greece

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by takis76 »

I will try to reproduce this.
I think , I was used one new portrait from human characters, might the problem is one of the portraits.

I will tell you soon , I will try to create several parties.
Post Reply