Page 4 of 4

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:58 am
by Neikun
TheLastOrder wrote:
Batty wrote:LOL

Earthquake sound

Code: Select all

playSound("earthquake")
Earthquake particle effect

Code: Select all

spawn("fx", 1, 15, 15, 3, "dust")
dust:setParticleSystem("earthquake_dust")
Note: spawn(object, level, x, y, facing, [id])
Thanks to Lmaoboat's LED dungeon display code.
(Sorry for my english)

Hi!! Once I've read all about the original LoG sound (earthquake) and its aplicattion, I post this:

I've been looking for AN HOUR!! a solution to avoid the "loop" in the earthquake sound that repeats.
But nothing...
I've used hidden pressure plates that starts timers (initially stopped) to break the loop, different scripts making all kind of posibilities that I know (including break code properly) without solve that problem...

I'm sure we are missing something...

:(

P.D: infinite earthquake sound as prize for an hour of useless work...
You're going to want to to take this code:

Code: Select all

defineSound{
	name = "earthquakestop",
	filename = "assets/samples/env/earthquake_01.wav",
	loop = false,
	volume = 1,
	minDistance = 1,
	maxDistance = 6,
}
And change your earthquake script to reference it.
It should be noted that it's a long sound that ends abruptly.

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:32 am
by TheLastOrder
Thanks man! :D

I forgot to mention that, in addition to this, I was trying to solve the problem looking for a DECRECENT fade (to avoid the abruptly end), but it seems to be that there's no known solution to that issue...
except using a new sound file!

:)

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:07 am
by Szragodesca
Would it be hard to use a sound program to take the original earthquake sound file (that you're using) and apply a fade-out effect to it, save it as earthquake_end, then when you start the earthquake activate a counter which, when it concludes, runs that fading out sound and breaks the original loop? You'd have to set your timer right so the fade out starts just as a loop would normally occur to save a sound skip, but at least it would fade out. . . right?

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:25 pm
by Neikun
It would be immensely hard, as you do not have access to that sound.

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:16 pm
by TheLastOrder
Yeah, the sound itself isn't a simple file. :(

Re: Shakin the camera (Solution found)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:28 pm
by Neikun
That would be because we do not own the rights to the sound files.