Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Isaac »

It would be shockingly hard to find... and that's actually not good.

Still... The assets are there. The model, and animation works. It is possible to use them, and even customize the material texture... but this is diving into asset creation, and using Blender and—or GIMP/Photoshop.

(People do it, but it's an involved workflow that takes a time investment to learn and become comfortable with. It's not difficult if you are already familiar with the tools.)

If you do use it for a secret, then I would suggest that you include a clue somewhere, and not rely upon a player just stumbling upon it by chance, or casual search. Also... hard secrets are typically best [IMO] if they are optional to find.
NolanDaneworth
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by NolanDaneworth »

Nuh, i dont know anything about texturing and/or modeling. Thus why im using only basic assets.
Im just aproaching more with artist way - if i cant use something or it brakes - use something else creatively
Like, if i cant use both ocean model and underwater tiles (cuz first i wanted like river turns into ocean/sea, but dungeon water surface not going well with heightmaps) - pick either what suits most in purpose.
NolanDaneworth
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by NolanDaneworth »

Again me and again tiles
Why cant mine_wall elevates on +1 ? It stays at zero.
I tried various things, thought maybe its my layout not satisfies it, but even if it surrounded by mine_floor (on +1), the walls are still at zero.
SpoilerShow
Image
Killcannon
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:57 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Killcannon »

Another question from me. Any reason why this custom item isn't showing up in the editor. I've placed it in my items.lua with other custom items that do show up; and even tried putting it in the \items\maces.lua that has the default items in the game. Yet it shows up with neither. Any thoughts?

Code: Select all

defineObject{
	name = "Life_Scepter",
	baseObject = "base_item",
	components = {
		{
			class = "Model",
			model = "assets/models/items/maul.fbx",
		},
		{
			class = "Item",
			uiName = "Scepter of Life",
			description = "An ornate metal hammer, its weight and balance make it too clumsy to use. Perhaps you can find another user for it.",
			gfxIndex = 403,
			gfxIndexPowerAttack = 424,
			impactSound = "impact_blunt",
			weight = 6.0,
			traits = { "heavy_weapon", "two_handed", "mace", "epic" },
		},
		{
			class = "MeleeAttack",
			attackPower = 2,
			pierce = 0,
			cooldown = 20,
			swipe = "vertical",
			attackSound = "swipe_heavy",
			requirements = { "heavy_weapons", 5 },
			powerAttackTemplate = "knockback",
		},
	},
	tags = { "weapon" },
}

Edit: Nevermind I figured out the problem. It wasn't that the item wasn't showing up. It just isn't searchable in the asset browser for some reason. >.>
User avatar
Zo Kath Ra
Posts: 937
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Zo Kath Ra »

Killcannon wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:44 am Edit: Nevermind I figured out the problem. It wasn't that the item wasn't showing up. It just isn't searchable in the asset browser for some reason. >.>
Not searchable because item name is capitalized?
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Isaac »

Lua is case sensitive; it is my guess that you typed 'life' in the search, and didn't find it; but try typing "Life".

*Ah.. too late, you've found it.
NolanDaneworth wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:38 pm Why cant mine_wall elevates on +1 ? It stays at zero.
I tried various things, thought maybe its my layout not satisfies it, but even if it surrounded by mine_floor (on +1), the walls are still at zero.
SpoilerShow
Image
Are you certain that is not the ceiling tile above a lowered floor?

It's tough for me to make out the scene from the image, and I was unable to duplicate this. Perhaps post an example map
(archive file of the project), or some screenshots of the editor panels.
Last edited by Isaac on Sun Mar 03, 2019 1:13 am, edited 2 times in total.
NolanDaneworth
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by NolanDaneworth »

Screenshots will be a bit faster, so i put some light to make it more clear

Floor elevation 1, ceiling 2.
SpoilerShow
Image
Image
Image
If i increased wall elevation on 2 and ceiling 3, this wall happens, but everything else as it was:
SpoilerShow
Image
Doesnt matter where it occurs
SpoilerShow
Image
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Isaac »

Have you changed the elevation of the mine_wall asset to match the floor elevation?
(This is not automatic, the mine_wall is not an inventory item that falls to the level of the floor; everything else defaults to zero elevation.)

Image

Image

*If you are using quite a lot of these walls, then it is possible to automate their elevation placement via script.
IE. something like this:

Code: Select all

 
function adjustElevation(objectName)
	if type(objectName) == "string" then
		for obj in self.go.map:allEntities() do
			if obj.name == objectName then
				local loc = {obj:getPosition()}
				loc[4] = obj.map:getElevation(obj.x, obj.y)
				loc[5] = obj.level
				obj:setPosition(unpack(loc))
			end
		end
	end	
end
adjustElevation("mine_wall_01")
But bear in mind that this [indiscriminate] function will adjust the elevation of any mine_wall that it finds, even ones that were deliberately set.
Killcannon
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:57 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Killcannon »

It looks like to me that he has the elevation of his 'default' walls set to 0, 3 Where the elevation of the surrounding floor is set to 2, 3 in the tiles layer. Which could cause the issue we're seeing as that specific mine wall model doesn't tile upwards endlessly that I've seen. At the same time, I've not messed with the mines tile set recently. To be fair, this would be far easier with the dungeon editor file so we could sit down, load it and look at it.
Pompidom
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun May 06, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer

Post by Pompidom »

I have asked some pretty stupid questions myself in this topic when I look back. And I'm amazed that people still were giving me the answers being helpful and stuff. But even I understood the entire elevation/tileset mystery from the very first day without asking for help. At this point I think it is better that we simply point him to the proper links so he can learn/understand the basic fundamentals on his own.

We can start answering his questions back when he is uptodate with the basic essentials of the LoG2 editor.
by letting him go through the basic youtube tutorials:

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7055
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7972

This should be mandatory.

If you're unable to grasp the basic essential fundamentals of elevations after fiddling around in this editor for a week, then it's time to set a step back and make him go through all the tutorials first.
And let him figure it out on his own until he grasps the fundamentals.
First learn to crawl before you can walk.
Post Reply