Page 3 of 5

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:50 pm
by BlackHell
You are right. I forgot that a timer once activated runs and runs and runs.
Now i can go further to Level 4. This will be a hard work.
I think its good to make old Dungeons in the Editor as we could learn how to implement already thought riddles so that we are able to think about new once which uses old technics and make them better.

I updated my dropbox file also.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:12 pm
by BlackHell
I had a bug in the second Level. There was a pit where a Trapdoor should be. I fixed this and uploaded the Workshop and the Dropbox File.

There is a situation where i need a door-open-spell but i didn't have one yet. I thought i could use the blob with a hidden receptor. So i placed to door and added a hidden receptor on the door. With a secret button the spell can be activatet. But it doesn't work. The spell is spawn but the receptor doesn't open the door.

On an other place in the original Dungeon Master there is a situation with two triggers at one place. The first one activates three timer events and the second destroys the first and the second trigger (hidden_plate in this case). The first timer event activates a teleporter. The second deactivates it with a delay of 4. The third activates the first, the second and the third timer with a delay of 8. This means: The party steps on the hidden_plate and activates the teleporter with deactivating the hidden plate. Becaus of the timers the teleporter is in a loop where its activatet for 8/6s and deactivatet for 4/6s.
I have to thing about it if i use realy two timers or if i use one timer and one counter to do this loop.

The hidden_plate is activatet once. Thats ok so far :) Now i need a timer that deactivates the teleporter and activates another timer that activates the teleporter. wow what a mess :D

I did it. Thanks. Sometimes it helps to write down the problems to solve them.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:08 pm
by BlackHell
Now to something new. I tried to make a hidden wall_text. I connected a pressure_plate with a lua sript to spawn a dungeon_wall_text:

Code: Select all

function dungeonwalltexttest
         spawn("Dungeon_wall_text",4,6,3,2,"Dungeon_wall_text_test")
end
It worked but its flickering. Maybe only on my system. It's an old one :(
I update my Dropbox so that everybody can look at it and help. It's a bug or a feature? :D

I have a quest. I use invisible teleporters to bring the party to the right location when they go up or down. I put hidden_plates in Level 5 and made all the things i had to do that the party can go up to level 4 again. It worked. After a time of testing i recognized that the hidden_plates had gone. But the Party could always go up and ended in the right place. I restartet the editor and opened the project again. The hidden_plates are lost and the Party could go up and down whithout failure. Was there a secret update? is this a bug?
Ok. I got it. I don't know how the hidden_plates where deleted but without them the teleporters are always on. With this the party cann't finish.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:03 pm
by Montis
BlackHell wrote:Now to something new. I tried to make a hidden wall_text. I connected a pressure_plate with a lua sript to spawn a dungeon_wall_text:

Code: Select all

function dungeonwalltexttest
         spawn("Dungeon_wall_text",4,6,3,2,"Dungeon_wall_text_test")
end
It worked but its flickering. Maybe only on my system. It's an old one :(
I didn't look at it but I'm quite sure that this comes from 2 textures/models being directly over each other, which happens when you spawn a wall text on an existing wall. When this is done by the dungeon, the initial wall is replaced by the wall-text-wall.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:25 pm
by BlackHell
I saw that on an other thread someone told that you can use the deamon_head as floor if you clone the object etc. Maybe this is also possible with the walltext. Maybe this could also work for the walltext.
At the moment i'm sad about that we can only have 32x32 as Dimension for the levels. Its great enough but for Dungeon Master i need to have 52x52 or i need Offset Coords. I know its not necessary for new Dungeons. Maybe sometimes after the Mac and Linux Release this could be implemented in the Editor.
It's terrible to let the party fall down pits without the possibility to change where they land.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:35 pm
by BlackHell
I try to remake the Dungeon Master spells. I started with the Open Door spell.

Code: Select all

defineSpell{
	name = "blobfly",
	uiName = "blobfly",
	skill = "spellcraft",
	class = "Blob",
	tags = { "spell" },
	runes = "B",
	level = 1,
	manaCost = 1,
	projectileSpeed = 10,
	onCast = function(caster, x, y, direction, skill)
		shootProjectile("dagger",party.level,party.x,party.y,party.facing,10,0,0,0,0,0,0,nil,true)
	end
}
I don't know if i ever get that to work. The dagger hurts myself and doesn't fly. Also it should not be a dagger it should be the blob with his particles and textures. How can i first get the dagger to fly?

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:22 am
by Dandy
Dungeon Master yeah!!
Please make this come true. :D

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:00 pm
by CrabStick
Hello, 'Dungeon Master' is one of my all time favourite games, and I've been looking forward to a remake for LoG.

I found a bug on lvl2 'Introduction', you've forgotten to link the 'pressure_pate_hidden_3' to the LUA entity 'script_entity_2'. So that when you ascend from lvl2 to lvl1, the teleporter works and you don't get stuck in the 1x1 with the teleporter ;?)

I also noticed that on lvl1, the framerate was really quite low on my setup. It's not a slow pc, but it is showing it's age a bit nowadays. I think you might have a few too many light sources..

Otherwise, looking good.. Keep up the good work!! ;)

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:08 am
by Dandy
I don't mean to appear stupid but what do you do with the linked download file to get it to work? All I see are lines of script.

Re: Dungeon Master Remake

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 1:59 pm
by CrabStick
Dandy wrote:I don't mean to appear stupid but what do you do with the linked download file to get it to work? All I see are lines of script.
You can download the dungeon here: http://grimrock.nexusmods.com/mods/24

copy the *.DAT file from the RAR to: My Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock\Dungeons, You might have to create the 'Dungeons' dir.