Page 171 of 396
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:22 am
by minmay
Isaac wrote:@minmay:
Portraits placed in "mod_assets/textures/portraits/" [in either tga or dds format] don't show up in the dat file for me. Perhaps I've messed up the naming convention in some way, but I have always named my portraits using that same format: race_sex_##; just like the default assets.
Here is a dungeon demonstrating it.
(Try exporting it, playing it, selecting "Create Characters", and then in the character creation screen, select the "Test" race).
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:41 am
by Isaac
That is really neat... So it is that the custom tab shows the TGA images in the Grimrock 2/portraits/ folder, and the standard tab shows the dds images in the 'mod_assets\textures\portraits' folder, and filters it by the selected character race.
Twice I almost posted back that I wasn't seeing any portraits, but the PC was set to human.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 1:18 pm
by akroma222
CainOrdamoth wrote:Hi all, I've been working on some custom races but I need some help. Is it possible to add custom sounds for new races, like power attack yells and pain sounds? I have them already defined and working, but need to 'add' them to a race script if that's possible. The same for portraits. With portraits, can I assign them to a specific race so that they show when that race is selected like for the default races, or do I simply bundle the new portraits with the mod an have people install/use them manually like with custom portraits?
Cheers guys
For your Sounds - define the sounds according to this format:
Damage sound
Power attack yell
Happy sound
For example -
Code: Select all
defineSound{
name = "damage_darkelf_female",
filename = {
"mod_assets/sounds/damage_darkelf_female_01.wav",
"mod_assets/sounds/damage_darkelf_female_02.wav",
},
loop = false,
volume = 0.5,
}
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:58 pm
by CainOrdamoth
This is great (and surprisingly simple, lol). I've not tested the sounds yet, but the portraits work. I saved them as dds, the reason I had problems was I didn't use DXT5 compression, nooby mistake on my part. But the files are in the right folders, etc and show in-game as intended which is nice. I'll try out the sounds a bit later, they're all set up but not tested yet. Thanks guys.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:51 pm
by minmay
any DXT format (1 through 5) or uncompressed RGBA8 will work.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:53 pm
by zimberzimber
minmay wrote:any DXT format (1 through 5) or uncompressed RGBA8 will work.
I recall people (me included) receiving that draw error when using DXT formats, but switching to A8R8G8B8 fixed it.
Is there anything else that may cause a draw error other than the save format?
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:12 pm
by Isaac
CainOrdamoth wrote:I saved them as dds, the reason I had problems was I didn't use DXT5 compression, nooby mistake on my part.
DXT5 is great for images with an alpha channel, but portraits don't usually need an alpha (though they can have them). DXT1 creates much smaller files; possibly 50% smaller.
*Curiously, Paint.Net does not offer to save DXT1 without a 1bit alpha, but the Nvidia DDS pluggin for Photoshop does.
DXT5 with contoured alpha-removed background, looks fine for the big portrait, but the backdrop looks black on the attack panel.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:56 pm
by zimberzimber
I'm not talking about portraits, I'm talking about textures.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:24 pm
by minmay
zimberzimber wrote:minmay wrote:any DXT format (1 through 5) or uncompressed RGBA8 will work.
I recall people (me included) receiving that draw error when using DXT formats, but switching to A8R8G8B8 fixed it.
Is there anything else that may cause a draw error other than the save format?
since you won't even tell me what "that draw error" is, i'm not going to bother trying to answer that question.
and DXT1 isn't "possibly" 50% smaller than DXT5, it IS 50% smaller, always.
you can also just compare to the formats of the textures in the asset pack.
Re: Ask a simple question, get a simple answer
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:40 pm
by zimberzimber
I'll start working on converting my texture to take up less space, I'll drop here the error if I ever get it.
Though I swear I used to get a DRAWERROR or something like that when I used non-A8R8G8B8 formats, was probably something else I guess...