Page 17 of 17
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:17 pm
by Charlo
Saurbaum wrote:Minor annoyance with the lua script editor.
Shift and arrow keys work to select blocks of text.
Ctril and arrow keys work to jump across text a word at a time.
I'm used to being able to use Crtl+Shift + arrow keys to select text by jumping along words. This doesn't happen in the Grimrock editor. It would gretly speed up my coding pace if I could.
One other minor request would be to be able to adjust the font size for the editor. On 1080p with a 17 inch laptop it's not totaly a comfortable reading size (I must be getting old).
With a similar font size issue when some of my ID's get long it can be a pain to look at the drop boxes and see only the common prefix for 3 events on one object.
I agree with your last one. It makes sense for me to put "modifiers" of function names at the end, not the beginning, and then they all look the same when they're truncated in the drop-down menu. I don't want to have to change my naming conventions!
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:31 pm
by Komag
guys I've made hundreds of functions and I just keep the names short, like cStep1 instead of crossStep1 and the like, that way I can still put the modifiers at the end and still see them. You get about 9 characters you can see in the drop down
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:01 am
by Saurbaum
Komag wrote:I keep all my names short or partly coded so I can see all or most of them in the drop down boxes
It's a throw back from my day job. Variables named so you can tell what they do. I might being doing it a little overkill but it's the way I work with it.
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:57 am
by torrentails
Komag wrote:guys I've made hundreds of functions and I just keep the names short, like cStep1 instead of crossStep1 and the like, that way I can still put the modifiers at the end and still see them. You get about 9 characters you can see in the drop down
Some peope have a (typically very useful) habit of naming variables, functions and the like in full so as keep it human readable, esspecially to outsiders, and also to adhere to good programing practice. Abriviating these names as you suggest can feel wrong to us.
Also, a bug: when testing the dungeon in the editor, if a script on another level fails, the testing will stop as normal but the failed script doesn't open in the inspector, or have the failing line highlighted when we highlight the script. We have to move the party and the asscociated testing environment to that level and recreate the incedent there.
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:32 am
by Komag
torrentails wrote:Also, a bug: when testing the dungeon in the editor, if a script on another level fails, the testing will stop as normal but the failed script doesn't open in the inspector, or have the failing line highlighted when we highlight the script. We have to move the party and the asscociated testing environment to that level and recreate the incedent there.
Good find - I've noticed some times when I didn't get any feedback and wondered why, and this was probably the reason
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:03 am
by thomson
Steam mod co-authors are not able to upload updates. Depending on how you look at this - a bug or a feature request (cross-posted this to both glitches and feature request threads).
Author A uploads a mod to Steam using Publish to Workshop command. Author B is later added as co-author. Author B does some update to the mod and want to upload updated version. When he clicks Publish to Workshop, it does not list existing mod and the only available option is Publish New Mod.
BTW Is Steam API for Grimrock published anywhere?
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:22 am
by Hustin
I don't know if anyone has mentioned this one, but the mouseX and mouseY values from the GUI context are relative to the screen, not to the game window. This winds up breaking onDraw() code when you're tracking the mouse position (e.g. for dragging purposes).
Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:23 pm
by Komag
check out John's Quick Action Bar code, uses a nice mouse drag to move the quick bar, so he somehow got around that problem.