Page 2 of 3
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:50 am
by Lyverbe
glyn_ie wrote:
- Associate an lua script with each of the tiles you stand on after entering a level.
- Then, program the script to check for the presence of the appropriate objects being teleported between levels.
- Based on the state of these objects, instruct the script to either generate or remove walls, doors or whatever else is needed for your puzzles.
I imagine this approach would work.
Perhaps it's not that simple because I believe the each map/floor is actually a single 3D mesh that you travel into with that mesh being generated when you enter that floor. If each cell has an individual wall bloc (which is nothing more than a single cube), then I also think it can be done. That's why I'm asking the Devs
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 7:06 pm
by Thels
Remember that one level actually has a secret "door" that looks entirely like a wall, so locations can alternate between being and not being a wall, that's certainly possible.
If you want to allow the player to watch walls shift from one space to another, that's an entirely different matter.
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:32 pm
by Lyverbe
Thels wrote:Remember that one level actually has a secret "door" that looks entirely like a wall, so locations can alternate between being and not being a wall, that's certainly possible.
If you want to allow the player to watch walls shift from one space to another, that's an entirely different matter.
Yeah, I already thought about that, but it would be too slow for what I want to do. I would want something instantaneous and moving a wall (using a teleport) would have been perfect.
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:38 am
by Thels
I was merely pointing out that a location can be a wall at one time and open space another time, which is what you require.
I don't think you can actually teleport walls around, but it should be quite possible to stop one location from being a wall, but start an adjacent location from being a wall. This would require some LUA coding, though.
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:01 am
by paxed
petri wrote:Yes, it's possible but requires some trickery because you can't send messages or add connectors between levels. However, you can teleport items on a pressure plate on another level. The plate can then open a door, for example.
How about global lua variables? Make the trigger set the variable, and then check that when entering the new dungeon.
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:02 am
by gambit37
petri wrote:Yes, it's possible but requires some trickery because you can't send messages or add connectors between levels. However, you can teleport items on a pressure plate on another level. The plate can then open a door, for example.
That's super old school -- you built an original limitation of the original DM right into LoG!
All joking aside though, why would you build that sort of limitation into a modern engine? The only reason DM didn't support it was due to extremely restrictive available memory, and they removed that limitation in DM2. I'm puzzled why you can't do this in LoG?
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:50 pm
by petri
gambit37 wrote:petri wrote:Yes, it's possible but requires some trickery because you can't send messages or add connectors between levels. However, you can teleport items on a pressure plate on another level. The plate can then open a door, for example.
That's super old school -- you built an original limitation of the original DM right into LoG!
All joking aside though, why would you build that sort of limitation into a modern engine? The only reason DM didn't support it was due to extremely restrictive available memory, and they removed that limitation in DM2. I'm puzzled why you can't do this in LoG?
No particular reason. The original dungeon didn't really need this feature so it was never implemented. It's just how the code has evolved. I guess it should be possible to change this if really needed but I think there are more important features...
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:50 pm
by Ext3h
I don't think explizit communication between levels would be required. Not as long you can simply use hidden rooms with teleporters, presure plates and preplaced rocks.
Besides that, puzzles requiring to think across multiple levels aren't such a good idea in terms of level design since you force the player to switch levels quite often and 3D patterns might not be comprehendable since the levels are never displayed at top of each other, only side by side.
Though what you could do, is aligning multiple trap doors on top of each other. Problem is, i'm not sure what that means in terms of damage calculation when the player steps into such a trap. Would the player receive damage for every trapdoor they pass, only for the last one or wouldn't they be able to fall down the following trap dors at all?
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:26 pm
by WaterKnight
Cant you just set and read global variables or when custom declaration is not allowed, is there not something like a hashtable/data bank?
Re: @Devs: Will the dungeon editor allow us to...
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:32 pm
by SodanKerjuu
Why can't you teleport the LUA entities to different levels? ^_^