Tetharion (test level)
- Soaponarope
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:21 am
Tetharion (test level)
It will be quite a while before I complete my mod but I wanted to upload a level for performance testing. My system isn't the greatest but I was able to run the main game fine on the high settings. Due to the height and lighting of this level I have to turn the settings down to get good performance here, and I know some will have slower computers than my own. So I wanted to make sure this would run alright for slower systems.
I've made it fully playable just as a mini mod to play around in, and will change some things later. It's a higher level area so import a party.
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =358823963
I've made it fully playable just as a mini mod to play around in, and will change some things later. It's a higher level area so import a party.
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =358823963
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Just a quick tip for making the map less graphics intensive. You can turn off dynamic shadows for individual lights, which cuts the performance cost of that light drastically. Just looking at that screenshot you could probably get away with turning off dynamic lighting on those inner left and right lights without the scene looking much different.
There's a bunch of other lighting variables that can be altered which can probably help in that regard (I haven't messed around with any of these ones myself so I can't give any insight in how best to use them).
Code: Select all
myLight.light:setCastShadow(false)
Code: Select all
light:setStaticShadowDistance(number)
light:setStaticShadows(boolean)
light:setShadowMapSize(size)
light:setRange(range)
- Soaponarope
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:21 am
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Thanks for the tip. The shadowing is definitely my main cause of lag. The level is also a huge area with a lot going on. If it does cause too many performance issues I'll first work on cutting down the shadows.
Re: Tetharion (test level)
The workshop is in full fubar atm, all the mods are gone...rumors of Valve ending the workshop being floated. I want to try this, Xafi was one of my favorites.
- Dr.Disaster
- Posts: 2876
- Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:48 am
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Don't worry, that's prolly just another maintenance glitch on Steam. Happens every few weeks ..Batty wrote:The workshop is in full fubar atm, all the mods are gone...rumors of Valve ending the workshop being floated. I want to try this, Xafi was one of my favorites.
Re: Tetharion (test level)
OK, workshop back in action. My system:
Phenom II X6 with 8GB
GTX 970 4GB (1920x1200 res.)
Main game on max settings I get constant 60fps with only slight dips in the 2 busy areas. On your level, at start, I get steady ~30fps, then moving around ~20fps. Near that indoor pyramid, a steady 10fps!
I will try lowering the settings and report back...
Edit: I lowered the following to medium:
Maybe reduce the water by 1/3 and remove some lights?
Phenom II X6 with 8GB
GTX 970 4GB (1920x1200 res.)
Main game on max settings I get constant 60fps with only slight dips in the 2 busy areas. On your level, at start, I get steady ~30fps, then moving around ~20fps. Near that indoor pyramid, a steady 10fps!
I will try lowering the settings and report back...
Edit: I lowered the following to medium:
- texture resolution
- texture filtering
- shadow quality
- SSAO quality
Maybe reduce the water by 1/3 and remove some lights?
- Soaponarope
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:21 am
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Hmm, that is a nice system Batty I would have expected it to run flawlessly for you. That is exactly what I was getting too fps wise, but my system is getting old.
Phenom II X4
4GB ram
GTX 260
(1920x1080 res.)
Just by turning down the shadow quality it makes a large difference and runs alright. The other three are minor performance hits. Your right though, I feel I should make some changes as it's clearly more demanding than the main game. Lighting is the main issue, so while I wanted it to be carefully lit without player light source, I will likely need to cut a lot of that.
Thanks for helping test.
Phenom II X4
4GB ram
GTX 260
(1920x1080 res.)
Just by turning down the shadow quality it makes a large difference and runs alright. The other three are minor performance hits. Your right though, I feel I should make some changes as it's clearly more demanding than the main game. Lighting is the main issue, so while I wanted it to be carefully lit without player light source, I will likely need to cut a lot of that.
Thanks for helping test.
- Dr.Disaster
- Posts: 2876
- Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:48 am
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Finally gave it a try too.
My i7 950/GTX 760 combo shows 15 to 30 fps above water and near the pyramid entrance. The values vary with the direction looked at and the camera angle. Under water and near the edges of the map i get ratings up to 50. That's with all settings maxed running 1920x1080.
With Shadows set to medium i get 30 to 60 fps above water. Under water i get 50 to 60.
With Shadows set to low i get 60 everywhere.
My i7 950/GTX 760 combo shows 15 to 30 fps above water and near the pyramid entrance. The values vary with the direction looked at and the camera angle. Under water and near the edges of the map i get ratings up to 50. That's with all settings maxed running 1920x1080.
With Shadows set to medium i get 30 to 60 fps above water. Under water i get 50 to 60.
With Shadows set to low i get 60 everywhere.
- Dr.Disaster
- Posts: 2876
- Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:48 am
Re: Tetharion (test level)
Quick performance update regarding 2.2.4 beta
With all settings max fps range is now between 30 and 60 above water and 35 to 50 in front of the pyramid, depending on direction looked at and camera angle. Under water fps are always 60.
With Shadows set to medium fps are 60 everywhere.
With all settings max fps range is now between 30 and 60 above water and 35 to 50 in front of the pyramid, depending on direction looked at and camera angle. Under water fps are always 60.
With Shadows set to medium fps are 60 everywhere.