[DEVELOPER DISCUSSION] One Room Round Robin 2 (SPOILERS)

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
JKos
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:03 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by JKos »

My room is done. I wish I had a bit more time, but I hope that it offers at least some challenge and fun. Not sure if my puzzles and fights are too easy or hard, but I can tell that it's possible to solve my room even with a level 1 party without weapons if you know what to do :)
- LoG Framework 2http://sites.google.com/site/jkoslog2 Define hooks in runtime by entity.name or entity.id + multiple hooks support.
- cloneObject viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8450
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by SpiderFighter »

JKos wrote:My room is done. I wish I had a bit more time, but I hope that it offers at least some challenge and fun. Not sure if my puzzles and fights are too easy or hard, but I can tell that it's possible to solve my room even with a level 1 party without weapons if you know what to do :)
Changed the OP, and am trying to get mine done today.
User avatar
aaneton
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:53 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by aaneton »

I eagerly waiting for the final all-rooms version. it will be so much fun to test! :mrgreen:
My Grimrock mod (LoG1): The Onkalo Project
My Android (and windows desktop) game: Balloon Gentleman
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by Diarmuid »

There's only 4 rooms left to collect (spiderfighter, Isaac, flatline and Xanathar), and I expect them within the end of the coming week! So we'll be testing this quite soon :).
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by SpiderFighter »

Diarmuid wrote:There's only 4 rooms left to collect (spiderfighter, Isaac, flatline and Xanathar), and I expect them within the end of the coming week! So we'll be testing this quite soon :).
I'm trying, brother. I'm trying. With my current living situation, I've had about 5 mins a day at the computer. I'm gonna give her boot soon and tell her to go for a drive for 8 hours or so, at this rate. I tried the "why don't you help me work on this" tactic, but no go.
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by SpiderFighter »

I've encountered an odd sound problem that I've not seen before in my other maps.

Code: Select all

playSoundAt("mysound.wav",8, 0, 3)
where 8 is the floor (level)

The problem is that this (intentionally looping) sound is also playing at the same point on every floor. I'm sure this is a newbie question that someone has an "did you try this?" answer for. :)
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by Diarmuid »

SpiderFighter wrote:I've encountered an odd sound problem that I've not seen before in my other maps.

Code: Select all

playSoundAt("mysound.wav",8, 0, 3)
where 8 is the floor (level)

The problem is that this (intentionally looping) sound is also playing at the same point on every floor. I'm sure this is a newbie question that someone has an "did you try this?" answer for. :)
I have no idea, but I guess that if it's looping, it will just continue playing when you switch floors, that's why. But how do you mean to stop it?
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by SpiderFighter »

Diarmuid wrote:
SpiderFighter wrote:I've encountered an odd sound problem that I've not seen before in my other maps.

Code: Select all

playSoundAt("mysound.wav",8, 0, 3)
where 8 is the floor (level)

The problem is that this (intentionally looping) sound is also playing at the same point on every floor. I'm sure this is a newbie question that someone has an "did you try this?" answer for. :)
I have no idea, but I guess that if it's looping, it will just continue playing when you switch floors, that's why. But how do you mean to stop it?
By a touchplate when the player exits the level. So you think the fact that it loops affects its range? How odd.

EDIT: Meaning, placing the floor level in the playSound parameters has no affect at all?
User avatar
Diarmuid
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:59 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by Diarmuid »

SpiderFighter wrote:
Diarmuid wrote:
SpiderFighter wrote:I've encountered an odd sound problem that I've not seen before in my other maps.

Code: Select all

playSoundAt("mysound.wav",8, 0, 3)
where 8 is the floor (level)

The problem is that this (intentionally looping) sound is also playing at the same point on every floor. I'm sure this is a newbie question that someone has an "did you try this?" answer for. :)
I have no idea, but I guess that if it's looping, it will just continue playing when you switch floors, that's why. But how do you mean to stop it?
By a touchplate when the player exits the level. So you think the fact that it loops affects its range? How odd.

EDIT: Meaning, placing the floor level in the playSound parameters has no affect at all?
I didn't try, but what are you calling from the floorplate to "stop" the sound when the player exits? I thought there was no way to stop a looping sound.
User avatar
SpiderFighter
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: [OPEN - SIGNUP / DISCUSS] One Room Round Robin 2!

Post by SpiderFighter »

Diarmuid wrote: I didn't try, but what are you calling from the floorplate to "stop" the sound when the player exits? I thought there was no way to stop a looping sound.
I hadn't gotten there yet, but, yeah...good point. Anyway, I changed it back after your first post to "looping=false." It's not that important that it loops, just would have been nice. Overall, it doesn't really affect the gameplay though.

(Sorry about overlooking the obvious. It's hard sometimes for me to jump back in after being away for a while.)
Post Reply