[Models] Captivated by Captive

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
hyteria
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by hyteria »

you have to create your material in the material lua script before

dunno if this can help but in case :

http://grimwiki.net/wiki/Model_Retexturing_Tutorial
User avatar
BuzzJ
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by BuzzJ »

okay, i created my material into the custom dungeon's material.lua folder according to that tutorial, allong with the .dds files in the right place

defineMaterial{
name = "CaptiveWall001",
diffuseMap = "mod_assets\textures\CaptiveWall001Diffuse.tga",
specularMap = "mod_assets\textures\CaptiveWall001Spec.tga",
normalMap = "\mod_assets\textures\CaptiveWall001Normal.tga",
doubleSided = false,
lighting = true,
alphaTest = false,
blendMode = "Opaque",
textureAddressMode = "Wrap",
glossiness = 30,
depthBias = 0,
}

however, adding materials.lua into the material slot of GMT doesn't seem to get it to work... :(

I could really use some help, but until then I'll keep looking and see what I can do. Sorry for being so dense, as I feel like I am just around the corner of understanding this.
User avatar
BuzzJ
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by BuzzJ »

Sorry, I figured it out!

In the materials tab, point diffuse to your diffuse.dds in the textures folder, then type the name as it is in the materials.lua

wow, i feel dumb; that's actually very straightforward.
hyteria
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by hyteria »

most important it s that it work no ? )
User avatar
BuzzJ
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by BuzzJ »

Unfortunately, now Grimrock Dungeon editor hits me with this error code when trying to open the dungeon:

mod_assets/scripts/materials.lua:7: invalid escape sequence near '"mod_assetsextures'

no clue what this refers to, but i'll keep fiddling
hyteria
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by hyteria »

"mod_assetsextures ????

you mean mod_assetsTextures no? maybee you miss a T
Arachnid
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:37 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by Arachnid »

If this is your code i can see 1 thing wrong:
normalMap = "\mod_assets
It should be without that backslash at the beginning.
User avatar
BuzzJ
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by BuzzJ »

yeah, that was really the error code: heres a screen:
SpoilerShow
Image
changed the code to this (notice change in slashes)

defineMaterial{
name = "CaptiveWall001",
diffuseMap = "mod_assets/textures/CaptiveWall001Diffuse.tga",
specularMap = "mod_assets/textures/CaptiveWall001Spec.tga",
normalMap = "mod_assets/textures/CaptiveWall001Normal.tga",
doubleSided = false,
lighting = true,
alphaTest = false,
blendMode = "Opaque",
textureAddressMode = "Wrap",
glossiness = 30,
depthBias = 0,
}

fixed the error code and editor opens the file. Now checking to see if I can pull up the wall...
User avatar
BuzzJ
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:06 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by BuzzJ »

Okay! the dungeon editor doesn't display it, BUT... BUT! I do know whats going on now.

Assigning materials is only half the battle! now I need to add in information into some OTHER .lua script in order to make the model a wall. I'll post updates when I figure it out.
hyteria
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: [Models] Captivated by Captive

Post by hyteria »

you really have to follow this tutorial , this is really simple and do ALL step by step

http://grimwiki.net/wiki/Model_Retexturing_Tutorial

after created material you have to create the object
Post Reply