General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by petri »

The crash with long strings is now fixed for the next version. Thank you for the bug report!
SpacialKatana
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by SpacialKatana »

Destroying hidden plates crashes the editor.

If I uncomment the line in red the editor preview game crashes, otherwise the script runs fine:-

function golddrg()
local itemFound = false

for i in altar_1:containedItems() do
if i.name == "golden_dragon" then
itemFound = true
end
end

if itemFound then
door_1:open()
-- pressure_plate_hidden_44:destroy()
else
return false
end
end
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Neikun »

I'm not sure about with other items, but you can place a cloned machine part north through a prison secret door onto an altar.

EDIT: This in fact works for other items as well.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3654
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

not sure if this is a bug or just something I would like...

When the I click on any item in the Asset Browser list, then the PgUp and PgDn shortcut keys don't work, very annoying when trying to place stairs in the right spot and I want to check the stairs on the other level! Also, the 1,2,3 keys don't work either.

All the shortcuts work again if I click on one of the tools or one of the level names or if I right-click (which no longer places multiple items, nice!). So I can just quickly right-click every time the shortcut keys stop working, but I shouldn't have to
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3654
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

minor bug:

select a spider (or any monster), copy, paste, move new monster to a nearby location, run preview.
you'll get a "warning! spider has invalid spawn location x,x,x,x" message in the console.

It has no ill effect and won't give the warning the next time you run it. So it probably doesn't matter.
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3654
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

can't remember if this bug has been reported before:
- create a torchholder
- add a torch to it
- copy, paste, move to new location
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there is an extra torch by itself there too!)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are two extra torches at the last location)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are three extra torches at the last location)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are four extra torches at the last location)
ETC
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Neikun »

Komag wrote:can't remember if this bug has been reported before:
- create a torchholder
- add a torch to it
- copy, paste, move to new location
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there is an extra torch by itself there too!)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are two extra torches at the last location)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are three extra torches at the last location)
- copy, paste, move to new location (and now there are four extra torches at the last location)
ETC
I was wondering why some of the mods I was playing had a bunch of torches next to the holders!
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Adrageron
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Adrageron »

Greetings!
Encountered some minor, but annoying "feature". In some places camera begin to shake periodicaly (coordinates 0,21; 1,21 on the different levels). I am sure, this is not my scripts :)
Has anyone encountered the same trouble? Is there any way to fix it? (exсept dungeon rebuilding to avoid "dangerous" squares)
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Neikun »

Does it shake just when you start the preview?
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Adrageron
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Adrageron »

Neikun wrote:Does it shake just when you start the preview?
It shake both in debug mode and in the game. Shaking interval is around 4-6 seconds. It is repeated permanently while I'm standing in the bugged square.
***
upd
Made a new empty dungeon for the test. Bug is not appeared in 0,21. Have no idea, what can cause it :?
Just to be sure, checked my dungeon.lua for shakeCamera method. It is used only in the single-use events, with no timers or party coordinates check :roll:
Post Reply

Return to “Modding”