Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
Ahmyo
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:50 pm

Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Ahmyo »

I've noticed that when you place a button or lever, for example, or anything really, when you select that entity and view the inspector, within the (x,y) coordinator, you can add numbers with decimal values such as 5.5, and the entity will move that much on the editor map, yet, within the game it will still remain in the same location, so this means that more than one button of the same type will simply overlap themselves, which then means you cannot have multiple buttons of the same type on one wall, (that the player can see anyways,) which in my case is desirable.. Is there any way to do this?

In other words, is there any way to place three levers or buttons next to each other on a wall?
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Komag »

I think you can place a large secret button and a wall button
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Neikun »

You can place three locks on a wall because it has a convenient height = x.xx, line.

One of my favorite double logics is a torch holder with a wall button on it.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Ahmyo
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:50 pm

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Ahmyo »

It doesn't seem to let me.. I've tried entering in a decimal number but the entity just stays right in the middle of the wall.. I'm trying to do this with levers, so maybe it just doesn't work with them.


Edit:

Oh, I found your post in the helpful scripts repository about two locks. So I would have to use a clone object script then? I was trying to use inspectors x,y coordinator. Man, Inspector is turning out to not be as useful as I want it to be..
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Neikun »

Ahmyo wrote:It doesn't seem to let me.. I've tried entering in a decimal number but the entity just stays right in the middle of the wall.. I'm trying to do this with levers, so maybe it just doesn't work with them.


Edit:

Oh, I found your post in the helpful scripts repository about two locks. So I would have to use a clone object script then? I was trying to use inspectors x,y coordinator. Man, Inspector is turning out to not be as useful as I want it to be..
Yeah it doesn't work for levers and buttons, sadly.
But hey, three locks on a wall!
If you want 'em, add this to your objects.lua

Code: Select all

cloneObject{
	name = "lock_high",
	baseObject = "lock",
	height = 1.750,
	placement = "wall",
	editorIcon = 20,
}
cloneObject{
	name = "lock_low",
	baseObject = "lock",
	height = 1.000,
	placement = "wall",
	editorIcon = 20,
}
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Ahmyo
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:50 pm

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Ahmyo »

could I do the same for keys If I wanted to use the same key type, but for separate doors? I'm just not sure what parameters I would need to do that in the clone. I would guess just the new name and then the model type right? I ask because I tried but it didn't work.
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: Placing more than one logic entity on a wall.

Post by Neikun »

You can simple clone a key and give it a different name = "",
It's a good idead to change the uiName = "", as well so the player knows that the key is specific.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
Post Reply