The Custom Alcove Thread. (Neikun, Batty and Crisman)

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Batty »

Here we go...
SpoilerShow
Image
I used Lmaoboat's positioning numbers to define 2 "logical alcoves" -- they have no visuals and do not replace the wall.
You have to click on the left or right edge of the alcove to place the left and right objects.

I'm pretty sure targetPos & targetSize refer to the placement and dimensions of the "click box" to add.
These numbers will probably need to be adjusted to fine tune it.

Keep objects like swords in mind because they may clip the sides if placed left/right.
I moved the boxes back a bit because items weren't sitting in as snugly as they do in the standard alcove.

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_left",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(-0.4, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(-0.5, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_right",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0.4, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0.5, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}
ok, can't seem to adjust it to fit 3 items nicely, swords clip a bit and you have to click too far left/right to place side items.

A solution that I like better is 2 items close to the center but no dead center item (sword is on left).
SpoilerShow
Image
I nullified the center box by changing targetSize to 0. For the side boxes, I moved the anchor position inwards and increased the targetSize.

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0, 1.3, 0),
   	targetSize = vec(0, 0.5, 0.6),
   	model = "assets/models/env/dungeon_catacomb_empty.fbx",
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = true,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_left",
   	class = "Alcove",
      anchorPos = vec(-0.2, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(-0.2, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.8, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_right",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0.2, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0.2, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.8, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Neikun »

Very nice work, Batty. You've saved me from a lot of fiddling. :D
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Blichew
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:39 am

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Blichew »

Batty wrote:Here we go...
SpoilerShow
Image

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_left",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(-0.4, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(-0.5, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_right",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0.4, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0.5, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0, 1.3, 0),
   	targetSize = vec(0, 0.5, 0.6),
   	model = "assets/models/env/dungeon_catacomb_empty.fbx",
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = true,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_left",
   	class = "Alcove",
      anchorPos = vec(-0.2, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(-0.2, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.8, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_right",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0.2, 0.75, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0.2, 0.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.8, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}
Now all you have to do is:
1. make it the same for upper alcove,
2. set properties of both (all 4 actually as there are two on each) to have replaceWall = false (it might prevent clipping)
3. spawn two of them on the same wall,
4. spawn a keyhole or small button in the middle
5. onactivate = combineItems()

this might be easier to read (and implement) if each alcove could contain only one item (like you showed us the code on previous page)
and you've made yourself a transformation machine :)
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Neikun »

It's really easy to place a lock in the middle of the catacombs because of a lock's convenient 'height' parameter.

It'd be neat, once John's model editor gets further in it's devs, we could like turn a lever sideways. Should fit nicely that way.

Other fun things I want to try:
Pressure plate on a wall as a button.
"A button so big, you couldn't miss it!"
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
User avatar
Blichew
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:39 am

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Blichew »

Suggestion:
add height parameter to new button model, aswell as add width property so we can technically have a wall with 9 buttons :)
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Komag »

we should maybe come up with a list of standard "large" items that are good to test in custom alcoves to see how they fit, like:
- ogre hammer
- boots of Valor
- etc
(I don't know if those need to be on the list, just random guesses)
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Neikun »

Blichew wrote:Suggestion:
add height parameter to new button model, aswell as add width property so we can technically have a wall with 9 buttons :)
I've posted this on the feature request topic 8-)

Also, if you want some really funny looking antics, paste this into your items.lua
Play around with picking it up and throwing it.

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   name = "chocolate",
   class = "Item",
uiName = "Chocolate",
weight = 10,
   model = "assets/models/env/dungeon_pillar.fbx",
gfxIndex = 130,
   castShadow = true,
   animation = "assets/animations/env/healing_crystal_spin.fbx",
   particleSystem = "crystal",
   placement = "floor",
        repelProjectiles = true,
        hitSound = "impact_blade",
        editorIcon = 100,
}
I decided this needed a video.
http://youtu.be/IN8sL1GGUyM
Last edited by Neikun on Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Batty »

Blichew wrote:1. make it the same for upper alcove
Here, looks neat next to the bones:
SpoilerShow
Image
I put a sword along with the boots in the upper alcove. You can just see the hilt in the center if you look carefully.

However, if you mouselook:
SpoilerShow
Image
There's the sword! This makes mouselook relevant beyond just looking at the scenery. Might make for interesting situations such as:

"You said the sword of unrelenting slashing was in the upper alcove! Liar!"

"Um...well, did you mouselook?"

"Uhh...no... :oops: "

Just made another logical alcove and raised/shifted anchorPos & targetPos until it looked right:

Code: Select all

defineObject{
   	name = "dungeon_catacomb_alcove_upper",
   	class = "Alcove",
   	anchorPos = vec(0.5, 1.85, 0.3),
   	targetPos = vec(0.5, 1.85, 0.2),
   	targetSize = vec(0.6, 0.5, 0.6),
   	placement = "wall",
   	replacesWall = false,
   	editorIcon = 92,
}
User avatar
Neikun
Posts: 2457
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Contact:

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Neikun »

That's a really cool idea!
Thanks, Batty.
"I'm okay with being referred to as a goddess."
Community Model Request Thread
See what I'm working on right now: Neikun's Workshop
Lead Coordinator for Legends of the Northern Realms Project
  • Message me to join in!
Batty
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:04 pm

Re: (Object Asset) Empty Catacomb as Alcove

Post by Batty »

Neikun wrote:That's a really cool idea!
Thanks, Batty.
It's a good place to stash an important key because you can just see the key's sparkle effect if you look carefully.

Of course, some will enjoy examining everything in a dungeon carefully and others will find it annoying.
Post Reply