General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Billick
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Billick »

I found an issue with hidden pressure plates. If you uncheck the "silent" checkbox in the inspector, and then run the preview, walking over them doesn't produce a sound. Also, when you save with them unchecked and then reload the map in the editor, the checkbox reverts back to being checked.
Halls of Barrian - current version 1.0.3 - Steam Nexus
Me Grimrock no bozo!
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by petri »

Billick wrote:I found an issue with hidden pressure plates. If you uncheck the "silent" checkbox in the inspector, and then run the preview, walking over them doesn't produce a sound. Also, when you save with them unchecked and then reload the map in the editor, the checkbox reverts back to being checked.
I think hidden pressure plates are always silent but I'm not 100% sure without checking code. It's probably intentional.
User avatar
Montis
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Montis »

But aren't there some hidden pressure plates in the game that produce a click sound!?

You could of course always do a

Code: Select all

playSound("button")
when triggering the plate as a workaround. :)
When destiny calls, the chosen have no choice.

My completed dungeon (LoG1): Hypercube
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by petri »

I think you answered the question yourself :)
User avatar
Billick
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Billick »

petri wrote:I think you answered the question yourself :)
Hmm okay, I'll try that. Maybe take the checkbox out of the inspector then if it doesn't do anything. Thanks! :)
Halls of Barrian - current version 1.0.3 - Steam Nexus
Me Grimrock no bozo!
Lmaoboat
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:55 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Lmaoboat »

I'm not sure if this is a glitch, but if you have a function gives an effect to specific FX entity, the FX entity must not only exist, but currently be playing.
So if you:

Code: Select all

function toxic()
	poison1:setParticleSystem("hit_slime")
end
You'll get an "attempt to index global "poison1" (a nil value) X, and the same if you do

Code: Select all

poison1:setParticleSystem("hit_slime")

function toxic()
	poison1:setParticleSystem("hit_slime")
end
with a timer that repeats every 2 seconds. But if you do

Code: Select all

poison1:setParticleSystem("hit_slime")

function toxic()
	poison1:setParticleSystem("hit_slime")
end
with a timer that repeats every 1.4 or shorter, it works fine.
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

Minor bug:
If you have a teleporter pointing to a certain spot on a different level, and then you want to change where it's pointing to by clicking "Set Teleport Target" and pick a square on the same level as the teleport, the X and Y will update but the L will remain the different level (instead of changing to the teleporter level).

Maybe this is intentional, I guess I could see it either way
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
petri
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:58 pm
Location: Finland

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by petri »

You should spawn fx entities dynamically from a script using spawn(). They will automatically destroy themselves when completed.
Lmaoboat
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:55 pm

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Lmaoboat »

petri wrote:You should spawn fx entities dynamically from a script using spawn(). They will automatically destroy themselves when completed.
Well I managed to get all ooze gushing from the ceiling working, but that should be useful for ones that aren't constantly looping.
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: General Dungeon Editor glitches and problems

Post by Komag »

When typing the "Spawned Entity" into the Inspector for a spawner, the autocomplete doesn't list everything. I type "tor" and the autocomplete doesn't list "torch", only "shrakk_torr", but when I type fully "torch" and test it, it works just fine in game.

Bug? Simply an incomplete list?
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
Post Reply