Cinematic Crash [Solved]

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
zukas3
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:44 pm

Cinematic Crash [Solved]

Post by zukas3 »

SOLVED: I just had to make it into .dds instead of .tga Thank you Malakite :)

Hello, so I have tried to make this cinematic thing work when Intro starts, so I exported it and made intro.lua in cinematic folder
And when I try launch it this is what happens
Image

This is how it looks like inside intro.lua
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

-- cinematic with a title and story text
enableUserInput()
startMusic("assets/samples/music/intro.ogg")

showImage("mod_assets/cinematic/intro.tga")
fadeIn(2)

-- show the title text
sleep(1)
setFont("IntroTitle")
showText("Treasure of Zukania", 3)
sleep(2)
fadeOutText(1)

-- show the story text
sleep(1)
setFont("Intro")
textWriter([[
Many people talk about treasures hidden there...
Worth much much more then whole king's and Queen's treasury 
So you and your party of volunteers
have set up for an adventure for gold and fame!
but what if it's just a myth or a legend?
It's up to your party to find it out
]])
click()
fadeOutText(0.5)

fadeOut(4)
fadeOutMusic(3)
I would be glad if someone could have find out what's the problem, if I need to post more details I would gladly do.
Last edited by zukas3 on Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Akatana
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by Akatana »

You forgot the s from cinematicS in line 5 :)
User avatar
zukas3
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by zukas3 »

Nice spot, I had to fix that up, but error type is still the same though it reffers to working directory now, so it's still unsolved, but you still did good on noticing how one little letter can make it all bad up.
User avatar
Akatana
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by Akatana »

Exactly the same error?
User avatar
zukas3
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by zukas3 »

Well this time it said that they didn't find something in mod_assets\cinematics\ instead of mod_assets\cinematic\
User avatar
Akatana
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by Akatana »

Sorry but then I dont know :/
McSkivv
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:46 am

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by McSkivv »

I had this same problem. Ultimately, I just nixed the showImage() command. I only wanted a black background anyways. :P
User avatar
zukas3
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by zukas3 »

Heh, good for you. Hope il get up to something eventually.
Malakite
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:44 am

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by Malakite »

Only thing I would try is to change the image you are trying to load back to the deafault and see if that is where your problem lies. It looks like the only thing that was changed in your .lua

*Ok so I set mine up to duplicate your error and I got the same error as you until I changed the image I was trying to load into an image saved in a power of 2 size. I originally just used a 1900 x 1200 picture, but then once I resized it to 1024 x 512 the error went away, the text popped up nicely, but the picture wouldnt show :shock: (Also make sure you save the .dds file with either the x1 or argb8 setting)

Anyway check that.
User avatar
zukas3
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Cinematic Crash

Post by zukas3 »

Thanks for reply but it didn't work either. I'm cursed :(
EDIT: I didn't notice of that format you mentioned, where could I export or what kind of program could make it from .tga into .dds?
EDIT2: I used Paint.net to make it .dds and it didn't crash. Thanks :D
Post Reply