stationary monsters

Talk about creating Grimrock 1 levels and mods here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
ShadowTigerZC
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:45 am

Re: stationary monsters

Post by ShadowTigerZC »

But now my new problem is that I don't know how to remove an item from an alcove
Unless I'm completely misunderstanding the question, I'm seeing a "Remove" button directly to the right of the item in the alcove in the editor, outside of any scripting environment. ... ... ... yeah I'm probably misunderstanding the question.

Unless you didn't add it to the alcove itself, and just added it on top of the alcove, separate from it, yet occupying the same physical position. .... in which case, it's possible to click on the alcove and add items there in the properties panel actually. To remove items occupying the same space, clear your selection by clicking in a blank area of the map, then click on it again, and it'll provide a pop-out to select which item you'll be interacting with, since both are clumped together.
User avatar
Akatana
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: stationary monsters

Post by Akatana »

I mean in game ;)
So if you hit a button the item disappears
User avatar
ShadowTigerZC
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:45 am

Re: stationary monsters

Post by ShadowTigerZC »

Well by george, I don't see one here.
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

Alcove

Alcove:addItem(item)
Adds an item to the alcove. For example Alcove:addItem(spawn(“dagger”)).

Alcove:containedItems()
Returns an iterator for items contained in the alcove.

Alcove:getItemCount()
Returns the number of items in the alcove.

Alcove:setActivateAlways(enable)
Enables the activate always mode for the alcove. Normally when an item is placed on an alcove, the alcove is triggered only if it was empty. Likewise the alcove is triggered when the last item is removed from it. With activate always the alcove is triggered every time an item is placed or removed from the alcove.
I guess that's something to add eventually. I was thinking of toying around with one of those "Adjust subtle X/Y position of the item in the alcove" but I can't for the life of me find where I saw that, only a few minutes ago even.
User avatar
Shroom
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:37 pm
Location: UK

Re: stationary monsters

Post by Shroom »

ShadowTigerZC wrote:
I guess that's something to add eventually. I was thinking of toying around with one of those "Adjust subtle X/Y position of the item in the alcove" but I can't for the life of me find where I saw that, only a few minutes ago even.
Its under Item in the Scripting Reference

Item:setSubtileOffset(x, y)
Sets item’s relative position to the center of tile.

but I guess this is only within the square its in? Havent tried playing with it.

For my wish list, we need to be able to remove items - or at the very least, move them :)
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 3658
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:55 pm
Location: Boston, USA

Re: stationary monsters

Post by Komag »

maybe you can just move the item or delete it anyway, just use the item ID, don't care whether it's in an alcove or anywhere. Just an idea, not tested
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
User avatar
Akatana
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: stationary monsters

Post by Akatana »

I solved it with a secret door which just spawns in front of the alcove so that the player cant get the items back :)
Post Reply