How to change the console activation key
How to change the console activation key
Pro tip, to change the key binding for accessing console do the following:
Open grimrock.cfg in Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock and look for "consoleKey" field. The value of the key is a Windows Virtual Key Code. A list of keycodes can be found e.g. here.
Currently the console can be opened by pressing § key on the keyboard (on finnish keyboard the key just above Tab) which might be a bit awkward to some
Open grimrock.cfg in Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock and look for "consoleKey" field. The value of the key is a Windows Virtual Key Code. A list of keycodes can be found e.g. here.
Currently the console can be opened by pressing § key on the keyboard (on finnish keyboard the key just above Tab) which might be a bit awkward to some
- Jack Dandy
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:22 pm
- Location: Haifa, Israel
Re: How to change the console activation key
The "consolekey" isn't in the .cfg file. Should I just add "consoleKey", or will it do no good?
Re: How to change the console activation key
Ah, you can just add it there. E.g. "consoleKey = 115" binds it to f4
- Jack Dandy
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:22 pm
- Location: Haifa, Israel
Re: How to change the console activation key
Okay, that worked, thanks.
- Shadowfied
- Posts: 47
- Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:42 pm
Re: How to change the console activation key
Nothing happens when I hit F4, I did add the line to the cfg...
- ShadowTigerZC
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:45 am
Re: How to change the console activation key
The codes on the post in the first post appear to be in Hex. Neat. You can use this converter to turn 0x43 into 67 for example and put that at the end of consolekey = and it may work. Because 0x27 corresponds to 39, which I see mapped to the appropriate key. Okay then.
So I think, put in 192 for the Console Key. It corresponds to the Tilde on the American Keyboard.
EDIT: Yes, 192 works for the Tilde. I went into preview mode, hit Tilde, and the console popped up. So yes, I am quite chuffed. Thanks for your patience.
So I think, put in 192 for the Console Key. It corresponds to the Tilde on the American Keyboard.
EDIT: Yes, 192 works for the Tilde. I went into preview mode, hit Tilde, and the console popped up. So yes, I am quite chuffed. Thanks for your patience.
Re: How to change the console activation key
I got this .cfg file, but the ConsoleKey doesn't work.
Code: Select all
-- options
resolution = "1600 x 900"
displayMode = 1
verticalSync = 2
textureResolution = 3
textureFilter = 3
shadowQuality = 3
ssaoQuality = 3
muteMusic = false
muteSounds = false
musicVolume = 1
soundVolume = 1
arrowIcons = false
disableDamageTexts = false
hideItemProperties = false
mouseLook = true
invertX = false
invertY = false
autoSave = true
cameraBobbing = true
tooltipDelay = 0
maxFrameRate = 120
debugInfo = false
console = true
consoleKey = 45
If we do not end the war, the war will end us.
Re: How to change the console activation key
so, to reiterate:
- don't have Grimrock or the editor running (not sure if this step is necessary)
- go to Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock
- open grimrock.cfg (with notepad)
- at the bottom (or anywhere) add the line:
192 should make the American Keyboard ~ (tilde) key open the console
or this:
115 should make F4 open the console
- save the grimrock.cfg file
- start Grimrock, fire up the editor, test it out
EDIT - to also use the console in the game (not just editor) add this line to the grimrock.cfg as well:
- don't have Grimrock or the editor running (not sure if this step is necessary)
- go to Documents\Almost Human\Legend of Grimrock
- open grimrock.cfg (with notepad)
- at the bottom (or anywhere) add the line:
Code: Select all
consoleKey = 192
or this:
Code: Select all
consoleKey = 115
- save the grimrock.cfg file
- start Grimrock, fire up the editor, test it out
EDIT - to also use the console in the game (not just editor) add this line to the grimrock.cfg as well:
Code: Select all
console = true
Last edited by Komag on Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Finished Dungeons - complete mods to play
- Montis
- Posts: 340
- Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:25 am
- Location: Grimrock II 2nd playthrough (hard/oldschool)
Re: How to change the console activation key
If you want the console to work in the game, you have to set
in the grimrock.cfg as well.
Code: Select all
console = true
Re: How to change the console activation key
Thanks to everyone for the information. I now have the console activated with ~ (tilda), but only F1 (toggle collisions) appears to do anything. I read a post somewhere that F11 should open a minimap and right or left clicking on wall segments would make them "real" or "fake" - I'd like to experiment with this, but I can't get the minimap - any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Thank you!