LoG2 bug list

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
minmay
Posts: 2780
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by minmay »

Whenever an item is added to a surface, the two store references to each other. Destroying the surface before removing the item will result in that error, and so will taking the item out of the surface by any means other than 1. destroying the item, or 2. clicking on it.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by AndakRainor »

Sure... In this case it was a regular chest with 4 spawned items added to its surface. all items were picked with the mouse. No script used / triggered except the one spawning all those things at first.
minmay
Posts: 2780
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by minmay »

Hm. How did you add the items to the surface?
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by AndakRainor »

Code: Select all

          local chest = spawn("chest", level, x, y, (facing+2)%4, -2)
          for i = 1,math.random(2,3) do chest.surface:addItem(self.spawnRandomLoot(1).item) end
(it was math.random(2,4) when the bug occurred)
minmay
Posts: 2780
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by minmay »

Can you send me the contents of your spawnRandomLoot() function?
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by AndakRainor »

CounterComponent:setInitialValue(number) generates an attempt to call a nil value.
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by AndakRainor »

Hi!

I wanted to say that I found the real problem with the surface of a chest referencing an object no longer into it or into a map (leading to a crash on reload). I can reproduce it consistently with chest, and I guess it would be the same with any surface component:

grab an item from the surface, then use the setMouseItem(item) function (to swap it with an inventory item through a custom GUI; the quick bars I made next to champions portraits). Now the surface references the item on which you used setMouseItem(item).
User avatar
akroma222
Posts: 1029
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:08 am

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by akroma222 »

AndakRainor,
sorry not a solution focused reply .....
AndakRainor wrote: ..... (to swap it with an inventory item through a custom GUI; the quick bars I made next to champions portraits)....
What quick bars?? Have you released them? Can I see them or can you direct me to them? Very intrigued :geek:
Akroma
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by AndakRainor »

akroma222 wrote:AndakRainor,
sorry not a solution focused reply .....
AndakRainor wrote: ..... (to swap it with an inventory item through a custom GUI; the quick bars I made next to champions portraits)....
What quick bars?? Have you released them? Can I see them or can you direct me to them? Very intrigued :geek:
Akroma
I use them in Magic of Grimrock and Eternal Recurrence :)
User avatar
Mysterious
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:31 am

Re: LoG2 bug list

Post by Mysterious »

- In Isle of Nex, there is a script_entity that changes the world position of a turtle nest, but as turtle nests have minimalSaveState, this world position change does not persist across save/load

I though you could change the setposition with this object? I don't get it. So anything with minimalSaveState can not be repositioned?

I read mins list and think how did AH not pick this up? Why does it take an outsider to see the probs? I think AH have pretty much left Grimrock to die as a lot of people have said this to, but I still hang on for G3.....It wont happen but I thinks Minmay make the next Grimrock 3 with his knowledge.....maybe.....hoping gg :)
Post Reply