[Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Modders

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
User avatar
Duncan1246
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:42 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Duncan1246 »

minmay wrote:I actually did that for my room for the "ocean_water" material:

Code: Select all

-- Water shaders are partially hardcoded. If a material is not named
-- "ocean_water", "water_surface_calm", or "water_surface_underwater", it won't
-- work. So I redefine ocean_water and have it change depending on whether or
-- not the player is in my room.
defineMaterial{
	name = "ocean_water",
	shader = "ocean_water",
	diffuseMap = "assets/textures/env/ocean_foam_dif.tga",
	normalMap = "assets/textures/env/ocean_normal.tga",
	displacementMap = "assets/textures/env/ocean_disp.tga",
	doubleSided = false,
	lighting = true,
	alphaTest = false,
	blendMode = "Translucent",
	textureAddressMode = "Wrap",
	glossiness = 80,
	depthBias = 0,
	texOffset = 0,
	foamOffset = 0,
	foamAmount = 1,
	waveAmplitude = 50,
	onUpdate = function(self, time)
		if min_room.script.inRoom then
			self:setParam("texOffset", time*0.004)
			self:setParam("waveAmplitude", 0)
			self:setParam("foamAmount", 0)
			self:setParam("foamOffset", 0)

			-- set textures every frame because of saving/loading
				self:setTexture("diffuseMap","assets/textures/env/ocean_foam_dif.tga")
				self:setTexture("normalMap","assets/textures/env/tomb_rock_tile_normal.tga")
				self:setTexture("displacementMap","mod_assets/rooms/minmay/flat_disp.tga")
		else	-- normal ocean_water behaviour
			-- these are the default textures so they do not need to be set every frame
			-- in case of save/load
			if min_room.script.justLeftRoom then
				self:setTexture("diffuseMap","assets/textures/env/ocean_foam_dif.tga")
				self:setTexture("normalMap","assets/textures/env/ocean_normal.tga")
				self:setTexture("displacementMap","assets/textures/env/ocean_disp.tga")
				min_room.script.updatedWater()
			end
			self:setParam("texOffset", time*0.2)
			self:setParam("foamOffset", math.sin(time) * 0.5)
		end
	end,
}
This onUpdate hook makes it behave exactly like the default ocean_water as long as the player is not inside my room. It is easy to do the same for Duncan's room. It's a nasty hack, of course, but necessary as long as the game limits us to 3 water materials.
I try to do this for water_surface_underground, but I fail. I can't see any "ocean_water" in your room and I am now completely lost ... Some help needed :?

EDIT: at the end, it seems that I have found where ocean material appears:
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

WATER_SURFACE_ID = "water_surface_underground_2"
function makeGlass()
	--minlib.gobj.spawnOn(min_ambmarker,"min_glass_surface","min_glass_surface")
	local surf = findEntity(WATER_SURFACE_ID)
	if surf then
		surf.watersurface:setPlaneY(0)
		surf.watersurface:setFogDensity(0)
		surf.watersurface:setReflectionColor(vec(1,1,1))
		surf.watersurfacemesh:setMaterial("ocean_water")
		surf.watersurfacemesh:setOffset(vec(0,0,0))
	end
	
	for i=1,6 do
		findEntity("min_invplat"..i).controller:activate()
	end
end
... but my chances to find my way in your script are close to zero
EDIT: the solution was in fact very simple... changing material wasn't necessary. I got it.
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

inordeal=false
 function entering()
	if not inordeal then inordeal=true
	raisewater()
	end
 end
 function exiting()
	if inordeal then inordeal=false
	lowwater()
 	end
 end

WATER_SURFACE_ID = "dc_water_surface_underground_1"
 function raisewater()
       local surf = findEntity(WATER_SURFACE_ID)
       if surf then
          surf.watersurface:setPlaneY(0.1)
          surf.watersurfacemesh:setOffset(vec(0,0.1,0))
       end
 end

 function lowwater()
       local surf = findEntity(WATER_SURFACE_ID)
       if surf then
          surf.watersurface:setPlaneY(-0.4)
          surf.watersurfacemesh:setOffset(vec(0,-0.4,0))
       end
 end
Duncan
Last edited by Duncan1246 on Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
The Blue Monastery (LOG1)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/grimrock/mods/399/?

Finisterrae(LOG2)
download at:http://www.nexusmods.com/legendofgrimrock2/mods/61/?
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Isaac »

I noticed tonight that the project file is not being updated in the ORRR3 dropbox account; , but the latest revision in the folder is ORRR3 - R027.
SpoilerShow
Image

During the ORRR2 development, (and ORRR3), having the main project on dropbox, was a boon, and meant that everyone had access to the current map, and any newly revised versions as soon as they were checked in by the designer. This also made testing easier, as we all got the new file at the same time, and everyone got our fixed versions as soon as we uploaded them.

AFAIK, any of us with folder access can share the folder with other dropbox accounts, so at some point all of the designers [with dropbox accounts] should be able to access the file without asking each other to pass it around.

This would also give easy access to all of the previous versions, should the original get corrupted; (not to mention being able to send the file as a download link).
User avatar
aaneton
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:53 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by aaneton »

Hi,
I didn't know ORRR3 has a dropboox. I have access to ORRR2 on in my dropbox, but not to ORRR3. But I would appreciate access if it's going to be used (and of course I can upload my latest file there). who can give access to ORRR3 and should everyone take it in use?
My Grimrock mod (LoG1): The Onkalo Project
My Android (and windows desktop) game: Balloon Gentleman
User avatar
Jgwman
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:14 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Jgwman »

Yeah, I had the link to download, but didn't have edit access, which is why I uploaded my revision separately previously to sending to minmay.
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3185
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Isaac »

It looks like John is the owner, but four of us have edit permissions. It seems that we can share the folder and [presumably] grant & remove edit permissions, (but I haven't tried). I think we really should contact John about this; (it is his account and/or storage we'd be sharing). Alternatively, we could make a new repository and use that.

*What's there is more than half a year out of date.

I just made a copy of it [the dropbox folder], and I can share that one. I can setup edit permissions for anyone interested, to begin using it as the new ORRR3 DB folder... Or if someone here has a commercial dropbox account with more features, perhaps they could start one and setup edit permissions for us. :)

We can use it as the main repository (if interested). I can share it with the other designers.
What I need is a dropbox account name (or an email) to be able to send the editor invite.
SpoilerShow
*Guerrilla Mail might work, provided it's checked in time.
https://www.guerrillamail.com/
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by AndakRainor »

I don't have any object named or3_power_crystal in the mod version I got. What is the quest item I should use as a reward for completing my room ? (n°18 dark tower)
User avatar
Jgwman
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:14 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Jgwman »

I'm certain it's in the most recent file (which you'll need to move your room into anyway). Use literally anything for the time being, and when it's your turn with the up to date file you should be able to find it.
User avatar
AndakRainor
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by AndakRainor »

Ok, does it fit into an alcove or should I put it on an altar?

Also, as you agreed before, I made the floors of my room go upstairs instead of downstairs.
So I used the levels named "Dark Tower (LEAVE EMPTY)". Would you prefer if the last floor was a castle roof style level or keep it inside (my second floor is 14 elevations high ;) )
minmay
Posts: 2780
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:24 am

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by minmay »

AndakRainor wrote:Ok, does it fit into an alcove or should I put it on an altar?
Nobody has actually made a model for it yet (it uses the stormseed orb model as a placeholder), so you should be fine putting it wherever you want.
Grimrock 1 dungeon
Grimrock 2 resources
I no longer answer scripting questions in private messages. Please ask in a forum topic or this Discord server.
User avatar
Jgwman
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:14 pm

Re: [Open / Signup] One Room Round Robin 3 - Calling All Mod

Post by Jgwman »

Please keep the top floor inside - I'm working on the final boss for the highest floor, which needs to be an inside area.
Post Reply