Page 11 of 36

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:40 pm
by Neikun
You make a very good point. :o
I still have to work on my metal blockage altar haha

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:19 am
by crisman
I don't think that should be a problem. We are Alcove Masters right now! :lol:
I'll do that a bit later, now I'm a bit busy with something else!

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:57 am
by Neikun
Haha
Alright, well this works quite well right off the bat. But I think I can make it better :twisted:

Code: Select all

cloneObject{
	name = "junk_altar",
	baseObject = "altar",
	model=  "assets/models/env/metal_junk_block.fbx",
}
I'm thinking of making a mace with the shaft model as a sort of improvised bludgeoning tool. And it's wedged in the junk.
However, last time I tried using anchorPos and anchorRotation on an altar, it crashed the editor when I placed the object.

It would appear that those commands are not applicable to an altar.
@AH, why is that? D:

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:00 am
by crisman
Nice idea, find a weapon inside the garbage. I think you should try that with the eye socket.

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:04 am
by Neikun
eyesocket is wall positioned. D: I suppose I can try it, but don't hope for too too much.

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 1:08 am
by crisman
True, but you can always 'cheat' ;)
Image
I'm working on the dragon, and I'm using a eye socket. I've placed it on a wall, and then cancelled :D

EDIT:
Here's the dragon socket, it accepts magic orb, zhandul and ore.
SpoilerShow
defineObject{
name = "dragon_socket",
class = "Alcove",
anchorPos = vec(0.0, 1.49, 0.65),
targetPos = vec(0.0, 1.35, 0.35),
targetSize = vec(0.3, 0.3, 0.3),
placement = "wall",
onInsertItem = function(self, item)
return (item.name == "magic_orb" or item.name == "zhandul_orb" or

item.name == "machine_part_north") and self:getItemCount() == 0
end,
editorIcon = 92,
}
Image
It's not easy to place it, since you have to put it on a wall first, and then eliminate the wall.

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:01 am
by Neikun
Now just mix that up with the fire mouth dragon statue so that when you remove the item, the fire goes out and you have yourself some seriously wicked shit. haha.
On my to-do list tomorrow: modify an eye socket to adjust my metal_junk_block altar.
If I do it right, I won't even need a junk_block defined as an altar.

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:55 am
by crisman
Neikun wrote:Now just mix that up with the fire mouth dragon statue so that when you remove the item, the fire goes out and you have yourself some seriously wicked shit. haha.
On my to-do list tomorrow: modify an eye socket to adjust my metal_junk_block altar.
If I do it right, I won't even need a junk_block defined as an altar.
Ahah that's cool. I'll try that tomorrow, now it's definitely time to sleep for me (big deal, it's 5am... :o )
If you encounter problems with the junk block we can try that together ;)
bye!

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:33 pm
by Neikun
This was quite easy to do, actually.
My only problem with it is that because it's placement is wall, it makes it a bit of a pain to place on a floor item.
This works well on all sides of the blockage. Only one side has clippage, but it's not intensely noticeable as the model for the blockage has clippage itself.
It really gives the feeling like your taking junk out of the pile.
Next step, make a shaft mace.

Code: Select all

defineObject{
	name = "shaft_socket",
	class = "Alcove",
	anchorPos = vec(0.21, 1.3, 0.6),
	anchorRotation = vec(0,30,75),
	targetPos = vec(0.21, 1.3, 0.6),
	targetSize = vec(5, 5, 5),
	placement = "wall",
	onInsertItem = function(self, item)
		return item.name == "machine_junk5" and self:getItemCount() == 0
	end,
	editorIcon = 92,
}

Re: (Object Assets) Empty Catacomb as Alcove and other alcov

Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:59 pm
by crisman
I've tried it out and it's looking fantastic! Yes, placing socket on the wall and then remove it it's a bit of annoying. But it works well!
make a shaft as a weapon I think it's the easiest part, I've done a pickaxe without any problems ^^